Frank's Spicy Alabama Onion Beer Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Amazing chili. Did a search on Google for Beer chili, found this and absolutely love it. I don't like really spicy stuff that makes my nose run, so I only used 1.5 jalepenos with a scoville rating of around 3000 and a little less than a third of chili powder, and no red flakes. It still left it with a small bite but allowed the flavors to come through really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Nice chili. I halved the amount and used the other 6 ounces of O'Doul's to make beer bread to go with this. Works just fine with a ground meat sub like Morning Star Farm Crumbles. I used near beer [O'Doul's Amber]because we don't drink. Not too spicy for me but I eat HOT. May want to reduce if you don't think pureed jalapenos [inc stems and seed] makes a great hot sauce. Added a bit of cumin and roasted garlic and roasted peppers for more depth. If reducing heat you may want to add such items also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Wow I never knew chili could be this good? I did not add all of the jalepeno's, hot sauce or red pepper flakes, decided to start out slow, used 2 Jalepeno's, 1 T hot sauce and 1 T red pepper flakes, 1/4th of a red pepper and 1/4th of a yellow pepper for color, it was just the right amount of heat! We made several batches to serve at a special olympics fundraiser... wow the compliments we received....by far the best recipe I've ever tried! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDROSIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I make this all the time and people love it. Great to add to hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is my go-to chili recipe. The only modification I make is instead of 2 cans for tomato sauce, I use 1 can sauce and 1 small jar spaghetti sauce for the extra seasoning. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITTANYCAVIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Really, if I could, I'd like to give this recipe 4 1/2 stars. I slightly tweaked it to personal preference only. The portions of meat, beans and spices were right on, that without it, I probably couldn't have done it by myself. My sight changes included additional spices - 1 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp grd cayenne (omitted red pepper flakes) and 1 1/2 tsp salt. Two seeded and chopped serrano chiles and four chopped garlic cloves (omitted jalapenos). No tomato sauce, substituted with tomatoe paste and a can of water. Simmered for two hours. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
this is simmering now and tastes wonderful so I am really excited to see how it tastes after a day or so. I have never really followed a recipe when making chili but decided to this time and yummmm the flavor are very tasty (I did omit the Jalapenos bc I dont have any and the red pepper flakes for my toddler). I also (from other reviews) added some cinnamon & cumin & WOW cinnamon really gives chili a kick and a lil ting on your tongue. Cant wait until 5:30 when my DH will be here and we EAT this yummy chili! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Frank, I love this chili. I have made it several times, and just made it last night again, but had to change it a little due to lack of ingredients. I only had one can of diced tomatoes, so added one can of rotel cilantro and lime diced tomatoes. I had one pound of ground turkey and just less than one pound of sirloin steak chopped in small pieces. I didn't want to go to the store, so had to make do with what I had. My beer was Yuengling and it worked out great. We like spicy, but not to hot, so added 1/4 cup chili pepper and several dashes of hot pepper sauce (chihula sauce), no pepper flakes or jalapeno peppers, just some shakes of red pepper. My beans were one can of pintos and one can of kidney. Many changes, but so similar to your recipe. It turned out great and I just wanted to let you know that these small changes can still produce a great chili. If you have a large group to serve, you can also cook a pot of white rice and serve the chili on top - really can feed a crowd. I have college age kids and friends and am always looking for ways to feed a lot without too much expense. Everyone raved about the recipe on a cold evening. Update 3/17/14 I am still making this delicious chili and found that a stout beer is the best to use. I follow the recipe as written except for adjusting the spices down a little for our taste. I still get great reviews when I serve this. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was absolutely delicious!! We cooked it in the slow cooker for 5 hours. Added one chopped chipotle pepper in adobo sauce rather than adding hot sauce! Can't wait to taste it AGAIN in 2 days! Thanks, Frank
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinorcleo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I make all kinds of chili and this was fabulous! Of course I had to health it up and make it my own with the following tweaks. 1 pound ground turkey instead of 2 pounds ground chuck, 1 large white onion instead of two, one green bell pepper diced, 4 celery stalks diced, one McCormick low sodium chili seasoning packet, 2 jalapenos diced WITH seeds instead of 4 seeded, 3 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce from a can diced. Omit the tabasco, chili powder and red pepper flakes...the chipotle and jalapenos with seeds add plenty of heat. Also a couple of drops of liquid heat. Keep the beer, worcestershire sauce, 2 cans of spicy chili beans, 2 cans of diced tom, 2 cans tom sauce. Serve with cornbread, top with fresh cilantro, green onion, sour cream and cheese. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States