Frank's Spicy Alabama Onion Beer Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Awesome recipe. I did cut back a bit on the spices, however next time I probably won't. It all simmers together and really just adds flavor as opposed to heat. It was so good and a nice change from our normal beer chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
A little dark for my preferences, but tastes pretty good. I cut down on the spiciness some and kind of wish I hadn't. Next time I will go with the full recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is excellant !!!!! I maade it just as it is written and it turned out very flavorful. Definetly let it sit atleast overnight for the flavors to marry, because it is much better after it sits. Gave some to my brother and nephew and they both enjoyed it also. This is now my goto chili recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This chili was great, made 4 servings (so I cut the recipe in half). A bit sharp from the tomatoes so I added 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup soy sauce, and 1 tablespoon of cumin. Rounded the flavored out perfectly! Also, I omitted the jalapeños. I'll definitely make this chili again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is THE BEST chili recipe I've ever made. It has amazing flavor and a good amount of spice. not so much as to overpower the flavor. I used all the suggested red pepper flakes, chili powder, 1 habenero, and 2 jalepenos) The only thing it was missing is texture. Next time I'm going to use some chunky steak :] I also used miller lite and tapatio. excellent taste and overall amaaazing chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
There's no shortage of spicy heat in this chili, that's for sure. What I did find lacking was some depth of flavor from non-spicy chili components -- garlic, cumin, oregano. Also without any tomato paste, this was a thin chili, so it really did benefit from the long simmer time. My crew did not (or could not) wait the two days to dive into this chili, but I was able to freeze some to enjoy at a later date (in "Chili Cheese Dip I" recipe by Jessica Jones -- which was super good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I had high hopes for this chili ... it was good but not great. It was thin and way too "tomatoey". I added an extra 1/4 cup of chili powder and an extra can of beans (since it was so thin) but it still didn't have the flavor we were looking for. I didn't add the red peppers (it would have made it "hot" but not more flavorful). I'll go back to my old standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Really yummy. Was even better the next day. The whole family loved it, even my chef husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Just finished making this and OMG it is like torture having to wait the 2 days. I tasted it and it is absolutely delicious and smells sooo good. It is going to be hard to wait to eat it but I will manage. I did everything as written but added about 2.5 minced garlic cloves. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
It could have been the beer I used, but this just didn't taste all that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States