Frank's Spicy Alabama Onion Beer Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I love this chili. I've made it with both ground chuck and ground turkey, and it tastes fantastic either way. I generally will brown the meat, and then throw all the ingredients in my slow cooker for 10 hours or so. I've used several different kinds of beer, but i love using smoked beer. I Most recently used the German Schlenkerla Rauchbier Marzen, which is smoked over beechwood, and basically tastes like bacon. I also recommend the Stone Smoked Porter, or if you really wanna go nuts, the Evil Twin Ashtray Heart (a smoked stout, which will give a very subtle coffee flavor to the chili... sounds weird, but it works!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Pelletier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This chili was amazing! My husband and I ate left overs all week. Never got tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This recipe is brilliant. I kick it up by adding a little ground cumin to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Made this recipe for a chili cook off at work. Took home first place. First time I've ever won a cooking contest. I agree with some of the other reviews about adding garlic to sautee with the ground beef. I also added a Tbsp of spicy mustard to it and a few pieces of bacon. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This is the best chili I've ever had. I've made it several times and my boyfriend always mentions how great it was. We love it so much we've made it even on the hottest of days in the middle of summer. It's perfect if you really love spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Awesome and spicy...even better with a fattier meat like bear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Awesome...it lends itself to experimenting with whatever level of spicy you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I've made this chili twice now and both times were a hit. I threw in an extra jalapeño and used some habanero hot sauce, so mine might be a little spicier than normal but not overwhelming. I'm no master chef, but this recipe can make anyone look like a pro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
The four jalapenos was too hot for me, so I substituted 2 medium poblanos instead... a little more veggie, less heat, but still spicy, I also substituted Coke Zero for the beer (wanted a few less carbs). This turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I thought the beer sounded good, but that was all I could taste when it was done, was beer taste. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States