Frank's® Red Hot® Buffalo Chicken Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe that never fails to impress! To address the layer of oil tat gathers on the top: Use a high quality block of cheese (cheddar honestly works best) and shred it yourself before mixing. The problem with using pre-packaged shredded cheeses is that they are coated in flour, so the pieces won't stick together. Flour in this recipe draws the oil to the top, coating the dip in a runny red film. Easily solved by shredding yourself! (I have tried off-brand block cheese, and they too have put flour in their cheese. Make sure that the one you buy has NO flour!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This recipe is great! Did you know buffalo chicken dip has its own site and facebook page? www.buffalochickendip.com. Anyway, I always recommend using canned chicken. I work for Swanson so I know their chicken is made with only white meat. When we made the recipe with rotisserie and regular chicken it was often clumpy, but the Swanson Chicken really improvest the consistency! It also makes this recipe really easy. Cooking and shredding your own chicken takes a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I make this all of the time and it is great! Only thing I change is I use rotissary chicken from Sams or Superwalmart, shred it and dump all of the ingredients into a crock pot. I usually let it cook on low for about 30 minutes, then eat with Frito scoops. Husband loves it, so do I!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Superb! Just perfect! Made it as described with blue cheese, for the shredded cheese option I used a cheddar blend and threw in some grated parmesan on top. I also used the 1/3rd less fat cream cheese to cut down on the fat. I also didn't like the idea of using canned chicken so I grilled some up fresh, then cut it into small pieces. My boyfriend and I were crazy about this after having a version at a local restaurant. We both agreed it was better then the restaurant version. We will make many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Always a classic for a party! I am not fond of blue cheese dressing so I sub with ranch. The Buffalo Wing sauce seems to be a little milder so I use that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I have made a variation of this for a few years. The differences are: I put celery in--about 3/4C chopped I use about 20oz frozen Tyson diced chicken--thawed Full bottle of Frank's Buffalo Full bottle of Marzetti's Chunky Blue Cheese Dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Iowa, USA
Living In: Golden Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Delicious! I used half blue cheese, half mozzerella and used boiled shredded chicken instead of canned! Thanks for the recipe, will definitely make this for parties in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I didn't care for this. The only reason it resembled buffalo wings is because of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is an awesome and easy appetizer recipe! A must for any party or SuperBowl gathering! I always save a little bit for the next day and use it as an omelette filling. Beat four eggs with salt and pepper. Pour into a pan over medium heat. Keep lifting edges to let liquid egg slide to the pan. Once the egg is just about solidified, put heated buffalo chicken dip on one half of omelette and fold over. It's my man's dream omelette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I've been making this recipe for parties for about a year now and people always request that I bring it and even though I've made it a dozen times or so now I've never felt anything needs to be changed. I prefer to use canned chicken because it's always very moist and breaks up easily into shreds. Cooking the chicken and shredding it yourself takes forever, although it probably is cheaper. And I definitely use blue cheese dressing (some recipes say you can use ranch instead) and I've used a variety of shredded cheeses, but sharp cheddar and mozzarella are my favorite. I usually coat the top of the mix in shredded cheese before baking it in the oven and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States