Frank's® Red Hot® Buffalo Chicken Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Wow! served w/a nice wedge salad, this hot buffalo dip changes from a Superbowl &/or potluck offering, to a great make-ahead date nite meal, w/flexibility for low carb &/or low fat as needed (spritz lettuce wedge with touch of oil then use a fat free vinaigrette, topped w/just a touch of blue cheese, diced tomatoes and onion). It's so encouraging to have another diet-friendly date nite meal to add to our rotation (let alone an optionally diet-friendly potluck/football/etc. dish in the family cookbook). While Frito scoops are perhaps the yummiest option for dippers, celery is surprisingly satisfying, helping me to avoid the desire for more scoops after I tried them initially, just to note the difference for others. Hubs love this so much more when we pulled out the Frank's and he could add a good deal of extra sauce; but the kids, who ate theirs while watching a movie together in another room, could handle the heat in the original recipe, without being ready to tolerate more Frank's mixed in. When using FF cream cheese & possibly low fat cheddar just for garnish, the dip becomes a little grainy, but w/added Frank's sauce (diluted with tomato sauce and water for those who can't take extra heat), the feel of graininess diminishes significantly (though not altogether). We hope to try subbing at least some low-fat, large curd cottage cheese soon, as well as ground turkey, to see how that might impact the texture when using FF cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Always a hit with our home, and when taken to events. Do not use generic hot sauce though. It is not the same for sure! We use scoops chips to serve with, but have also used this as a topping to hot dogs, and for nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momOf7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Loved it! Double the recipe because it disappears fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Lamesa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
VERY popular with interns summer 2013
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
My husband and I love this. I enjoy making it for get-togethers as it is super easy and quick. Instead of Blue Cheese I substitute Ranch since we like that better. Other than that small change, everything is left the same. Once everything is together I transfer it to a crock pot to stay warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I've had this many times at parties but never made it myself. I enjoyed this recipe and used mozzarella cheese in the dip and on top. I didn't have problems with oil pooling on top of the dip. Thanks for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This is a traditional superbowl recipe. I use fresh boneless chicken-3 pieces. I like my chicken moist so I marinade it in lime juice, garlic, and touch of EVOO and use the george forman grill to keep it super juicy. This is a hot dish but super addicting. Instead of dipping the whole grain tortilla scoops we arrange the scoops on the plate and spoon the dip into the chips. Less messy I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was bad. I really like blue cheese, but this was too much. I agree with other reviews that you need to use other cheese. It changes the recipe so I am rating this because I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
We love hot but this was just too much heat. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of fresh chicken versus the canned stuff (we had some left over in the refrigerator). I will half the amount of hot sauce next time and then add slowly until we reach our desired heat level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
first time making a buffalo chicken dip....came out great! i used my own roasted chicken; lower fat cream cheese and home made smoked blue cheese dressing. i also added shredded cheddar instead of the mozzarella/blue cheese. my DH didn't want me to make it but i had everything on hand and forged on. he loved it! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States