Frank's Favorite Slow-Cooker Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This was a great recipe. I had to modify based on ingredients on-hand. I didn't have coconut milk - I swear I did at some point. Anyway - I used a Thai curry jarred sauce I had on hand with coconut milk in it. I used half the ginger because I was fearful of being too spicy but I will go with recommended 2 TBL next time. Also, I had a whole chicken which I split down the middle & flattened out and it took little more than 1/2 the time recommended. Served over brown rice with sauted veggies on the side & salad. The reason I gave it a 4 star and not 5 is the sodium level is extremely high so use low sodium where you can. The fat level was a bit much - but it didn't stop me from enjoying the recipe. Thanks for the idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This was okay. The combination of flavors is great and the chicken came out super tender. But, there was something about the consistency I just didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Pretty darned good. Used whole can of coconut milk and added more peanut butter. Will make again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Bland. Sadly, *woefully* bland. I made this dish using suggestions from the most helpful reviewers and added vegetables (potato, red bell pepper, carrots, and onion). I used 3 TBSP of Sriracha instead of the salsa, brown sugar instead of white, and 1 can of full-fat coconut milk. I cooked on high for 4 hours. The curry never thickened. The only thing that saved the dish was adding curry powder and salt to our plates. My husband and I love Thai food, and we were very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This was so good! The entire family enjoyed it. It was even better the next day. I used peach mango salsa because that's what I had, but didn't change anything else. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
We loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was one of the best crock pot recipes I've tried in awhile! It was great! Wonderful flavors and something different to try for those less adventurous cooks. I didn't use the sugar and used mild Pace salsa (would try medium next time) and used 2 tsp ground ginger because I didn't have fresh. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovetoBake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Grand Forks, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
PB was overpowering in this dish. I made it exactly as written, without however the peanut topping as it was already over-powering. We use all natural PB, so that may have been the difference. Regular PB does not have a really strong taste because of all the oils and sugars and the like. It was a very easy dish to make. My one child liked it, but the rest of us found it bland and like eating straight up warm PB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I was skepitcal. My husband lived in Thailand. Subsequently we eat a lot of Thai food. This was fabulous! My whole family loved it. Its easy and delicious. Will probably make more sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Good flavours but the cook time was too long, Like other reviewers mentioned it turned into a 'pulled meat' dish instead of chicken chunks. Next time I'll put it at 6 hours. We added chili, curry powder, garlic and a couple red bell peppers. We will make again with the shorter time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States