Frank's Favorite Slow-Cooker Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This is good ad almost ends up tasting like a curry. For some reason, the sauce ended up burning a bit in my crock pot. Next time I'll make more sauce and I won't cook it as long.***update*** My crockpot is just hot, I think. Sauce won't burn if I stir it every now and then. Last time I didn't have 8 hours, so I put it on high for an hour and then on low for 3 more hours. Was great! I also added sliced bell peppers to the pot about half hour before eating. Next time I'll add some yellow potatoes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
We have doubled this recipe twice. The first time, we didn't have ginger, so we used curry. YUM! This time, I used part curry, part ginger, YUM! You could even do some other fun stuff here. But, as is, this recipe is a WINNER! My husband, who is kina picky, asks me to make it all the time! One thing we never have is lime, so the line juice has never been added. It doesn't matter. Serve it by itself or put it over rice or noodles. Kids will love this, too. I think if kids are involved, you might want to hold back on the spices a bit. This is one of our favs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This was delicious! I made it exactly as written and the sauce was amazing, the chicken so tender! I made it with basmati rice. Even my very picky children ate every last bite! A new family favourite - I will be making this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Agasucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I liked this recipe, but did make some changes. Since I mixed the sauce before adding boneless/skinless chicken thighs, I was able to adjust to taste. This is what I changed, anything not mentioned I left as in the original: 1 cup hot salsa 1/2 cup chunky peanut butter 1 can light coconut milk 1 lime, juiced 1 tablespoon fresh grated ginger - only because I bought too small of a chunk. I like heat, so I added a LOT of extra Sriracha. Not sure exactly how much it ended up being, as I kept adding it by the tablespoon to taste. Probably at least 6 tablespoons. Cooked on Low for 6.5 hours. Towards the end I saw (as others have noted) that it was quite thin, so I added about 1/2 cup of Bisquik to thicken it up. In addition to the peanuts and cilantro, I added some toasted coconut chips as a garnish. Turned out quite tasty over jasmine rice. The chicken did break down completely, so maybe only about 4 hours on low if you don't like that. It smelled AMAZING while cooking. Next time I'll add even more peanut butter, and might use regular coconut milk. I love crockpot recipes, and this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This was a great recipe. I had to modify based on ingredients on-hand. I didn't have coconut milk - I swear I did at some point. Anyway - I used a Thai curry jarred sauce I had on hand with coconut milk in it. I used half the ginger because I was fearful of being too spicy but I will go with recommended 2 TBL next time. Also, I had a whole chicken which I split down the middle & flattened out and it took little more than 1/2 the time recommended. Served over brown rice with sauted veggies on the side & salad. The reason I gave it a 4 star and not 5 is the sodium level is extremely high so use low sodium where you can. The fat level was a bit much - but it didn't stop me from enjoying the recipe. Thanks for the idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This was okay. The combination of flavors is great and the chicken came out super tender. But, there was something about the consistency I just didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Pretty darned good. Used whole can of coconut milk and added more peanut butter. Will make again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Bland. Sadly, *woefully* bland. I made this dish using suggestions from the most helpful reviewers and added vegetables (potato, red bell pepper, carrots, and onion). I used 3 TBSP of Sriracha instead of the salsa, brown sugar instead of white, and 1 can of full-fat coconut milk. I cooked on high for 4 hours. The curry never thickened. The only thing that saved the dish was adding curry powder and salt to our plates. My husband and I love Thai food, and we were very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This was so good! The entire family enjoyed it. It was even better the next day. I used peach mango salsa because that's what I had, but didn't change anything else. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
We loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States