Frank's Favorite Slow-Cooker Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Fantastic. I had some chicken thighs and did a search to see what I could make with them - hit the jackpot with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Easy & delicious! Great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I tried to make this as is, but had to make some minor adjustments for what I had on hand: I used mild salsa + dash of chili pepper flakes, smooth, *real* peanut butter and full fat coconut milk, and I left off the peanut and cilantro topping. Also, I cooked on low for only 6 hours and found that perfect for the chicken - it stayed very tenderly on the bone and was nicely moist. Any more cooking and it would have fallen off the bone and/or dried out. As for the finished dish: while the depth of flavour was there with just the right amount of heat and sweetness, the peanut butter was WAY too overpowering for our taste. Anyone using real peanut butter, I suggest you use 1/2 what the recipe calls for. The sauce seemed to reduce nicely (something I don't often get out of a crockpot dish) so the thickness and consistency was good, but there wasn't a lot there. If you want a saucy dish to pour over rice or noodles or to dip bread in, I suggest you double the sauce ingredients. If I try this again I'll use 1/2 the peanut butter. I agree with whoever said "it seems to be missing something" and definitely needs some tweaking which is beyond my skills. Two and a half stars from me. Would I pass this recipe along? No. But thanks for sharing, it was worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I loved this recipe. I followed the one reviewer and used siracha instead of salsa, creamy peanut butter and no sugar. The 2 TBS was a little too spicy for some members of my family so I might suggest using one and then having people add as they would like. I doubled the sauce for the chicken and we ate it kind of like a Thai curry. I also added slice onions and some sliced zucchini at the end so it was a complete meal with veggies. It was a huge hit with the peanuts and cilantro on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Milligan
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I thought this was a quick, delicious dinner! Super easy. I did as suggested and only used 1/2 of the salsa that it says too, and also used whole coconut milk along with creamy peanut butter. Oh and I added a couple tsps of crushed red pepper for a bit of spice. I doubled the sauce because we love extra sauce and the can was 13 ounces so it worked out perfectly. I used powdered ginger as I did not have fresh ginger. Flavor was still wonderful. I served this over rice noodles. I will be making this a regular slow cooker recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I did not care for this recipe, it just tasted like something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Didn't realize how much I loved this recipe until I made it three times - now a go-to for simplicity and flavour. Have changed the ingredients depending on what was in the house (less lime, more lime, more salsa, added tabasco, added garlic, etc.) Whatever you do it will taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Love this easy to prepare recipe - I serve with instant rice and steamed broccoli - and whatever on hand (medium salsa, creamy pb, etc)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
wont try this again. I'm always looking for good chicken recipes, especially easy make ones (doesn't everybody?) Yes, it was easy to throw the ingredients together but chicken was rather bland. True, I used chicken breasts and used 1/2 c hot sauce but I expected more. I don't like spicy (hot) food. I could feel the hot sauce on my lips, but I didn't get an upset stomach whatsoever. I agree with other poster than p/butter flavor was cooked out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This is good ad almost ends up tasting like a curry. For some reason, the sauce ended up burning a bit in my crock pot. Next time I'll make more sauce and I won't cook it as long.***update*** My crockpot is just hot, I think. Sauce won't burn if I stir it every now and then. Last time I didn't have 8 hours, so I put it on high for an hour and then on low for 3 more hours. Was great! I also added sliced bell peppers to the pot about half hour before eating. Next time I'll add some yellow potatoes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States