Frank's Famous Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Bland and tomato sauce-y tasting. Great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris Qualls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
It was good, very thick! I added a bit of brown sugar and 3 fresh tomatoes instead of one of the cans of tomato sauce. Per one reviewers request i was going to do only half the can of tomato paste, but ended up throwing it all in. I think I would've liked it better with half the can. The way the recipe is is very good, but the sauce sits on top of the spaghetti instead of mixing in with it. Almost a sloppy joe texture! very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
i loved itttttttttttttt but I had to make it my own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania Fleites

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I coupled this with thin whole wheat spaghetti for a healthy supper. In moderation, this recipe can be part of a heart-healthy eating plan. All of the ingredients are low-fat, and largely low-calorie. I used more than the dash or oregano and basil that were called for; we like plenty of Italian seasonings. My son and I both loved it. My wife had already eaten, so she will try some later. This is a great basic spaghetti sauce recipe that could be combined with sausage, ground beef, and other meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I cook with ground turkey constantly and it can get kind of boring. For this receipe I used lots of fresh basil and Greek oregano. I left out the green pepper, a most unpopular vegetable in my family, and used peeled and diced broccoli stems instead. We loved the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Tasty and healthy all-round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Just average. As others have written, needs more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I also found this a little bland. I added 1 stalk of chopped celery, and WAY more than a pinch of each basil and oregano. I also added crushed bay leaves to up the flavour, and switched out the turkey fro ground beef. The last thing different I did, was after adding the crushed tomatoes and letting them simmer, I put everything into a crock pot, added the rest of the ingredients, and then let it simmer all day on low. It helped the flavours to come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
It was ok, tasted alright when I tried it after it simmered for two hours, I felt I needed to doctor ALOT! I may make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I had half the amount of ground meat for today's dinner (on a TIGHT budget) so I just added in more chopped pepper, mushrooms and another small onion. I also increased the basil and oregano. I also added a glug of red wine. I did let this simmer for an hour or so. Great goulash sauce. Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States