Frank's Famous Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
i loved itttttttttttttt but I had to make it my own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania Fleites

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I coupled this with thin whole wheat spaghetti for a healthy supper. In moderation, this recipe can be part of a heart-healthy eating plan. All of the ingredients are low-fat, and largely low-calorie. I used more than the dash or oregano and basil that were called for; we like plenty of Italian seasonings. My son and I both loved it. My wife had already eaten, so she will try some later. This is a great basic spaghetti sauce recipe that could be combined with sausage, ground beef, and other meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I cook with ground turkey constantly and it can get kind of boring. For this receipe I used lots of fresh basil and Greek oregano. I left out the green pepper, a most unpopular vegetable in my family, and used peeled and diced broccoli stems instead. We loved the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Tasty and healthy all-round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Just average. As others have written, needs more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I also found this a little bland. I added 1 stalk of chopped celery, and WAY more than a pinch of each basil and oregano. I also added crushed bay leaves to up the flavour, and switched out the turkey fro ground beef. The last thing different I did, was after adding the crushed tomatoes and letting them simmer, I put everything into a crock pot, added the rest of the ingredients, and then let it simmer all day on low. It helped the flavours to come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
It was ok, tasted alright when I tried it after it simmered for two hours, I felt I needed to doctor ALOT! I may make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I had half the amount of ground meat for today's dinner (on a TIGHT budget) so I just added in more chopped pepper, mushrooms and another small onion. I also increased the basil and oregano. I also added a glug of red wine. I did let this simmer for an hour or so. Great goulash sauce. Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I added at least twice as many mushrooms and used ground beef. I also added lots of ground pepper. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUBBLES89021

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yerington, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great tasting...with modifications...it is a five star, probably just three as is. little sugar, balsamic vinegar, about 1/4 c wine, no meat (used vegan meatballs from Trader Joe's - awesome!), red pepper and bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINGYV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States