Frank's Famous Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
i loved itttttttttttttt but I had to make it my own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania Fleites

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I coupled this with thin whole wheat spaghetti for a healthy supper. In moderation, this recipe can be part of a heart-healthy eating plan. All of the ingredients are low-fat, and largely low-calorie. I used more than the dash or oregano and basil that were called for; we like plenty of Italian seasonings. My son and I both loved it. My wife had already eaten, so she will try some later. This is a great basic spaghetti sauce recipe that could be combined with sausage, ground beef, and other meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I cook with ground turkey constantly and it can get kind of boring. For this receipe I used lots of fresh basil and Greek oregano. I left out the green pepper, a most unpopular vegetable in my family, and used peeled and diced broccoli stems instead. We loved the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Tasty and healthy all-round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Just average. As others have written, needs more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I also found this a little bland. I added 1 stalk of chopped celery, and WAY more than a pinch of each basil and oregano. I also added crushed bay leaves to up the flavour, and switched out the turkey fro ground beef. The last thing different I did, was after adding the crushed tomatoes and letting them simmer, I put everything into a crock pot, added the rest of the ingredients, and then let it simmer all day on low. It helped the flavours to come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
It was ok, tasted alright when I tried it after it simmered for two hours, I felt I needed to doctor ALOT! I may make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I had half the amount of ground meat for today's dinner (on a TIGHT budget) so I just added in more chopped pepper, mushrooms and another small onion. I also increased the basil and oregano. I also added a glug of red wine. I did let this simmer for an hour or so. Great goulash sauce. Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I added at least twice as many mushrooms and used ground beef. I also added lots of ground pepper. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUBBLES89021

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yerington, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great tasting...with modifications...it is a five star, probably just three as is. little sugar, balsamic vinegar, about 1/4 c wine, no meat (used vegan meatballs from Trader Joe's - awesome!), red pepper and bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINGYV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States