Fragrant and Healthy Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I have to say I was stunned by the outstanding flavor of this cake with so little sugar - the ingredients are wonderful for those who are diabetic or just looking for healthier varieties. I did not use the carob powder. What makes this special are the figs - they really stand out. Excellent taste and no guilt enjoying this cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
My husband and I really liked this a lot! And I so love that it doesn't have so much sugar!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Not too crazy about this one. Baked for time listed and it came out over-done. If I try again, I will check after 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Incredible! I can't really think 'carrot cake' when I eat this, but it is the most amazing spice and texture experience I've ever had with cake! :) I baked the batter in muffin cups for nearly 30 minutes to make sure they wouldn't be gooey, and they turned out perfectly. Moist and delicious. The molasses is a heavy flavour (I love it, but not all my family can appreciate it) so I think I will try substituting honey or agave nectar next time and see if it results in a lighter, more typical carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Amazing Recipe! I didn't have a bundt cake used a 9x13 pan and underbaked it quite a bit. It turned out more like Carrot Cake Squares because it doesn't rise like a normal cake because it is so dense. But, this recipe is not only healthy but has a very bold wonderful flavor and was REALLY good! I replaced oil with applesauce and frosted the cake with cream cheese frosting. It was a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I wanted something healthier for my daughter's first birthday cake, so I chose this recipe. I also made chocolate cupcakes, thinking some of the family might prefer them, but the carrot cake was the big hit. I'd definitely make this again. The orange flavor and the sweetness of the figs were really nice, a departure from the standard carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Minimum batter, maximum good stuff! I underbaked it quite a bit since I used a loaf pan, and made some cream cheese frosting (went very easy on the sugar) and it was fantastic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Great cake! I used 100% white whole wheat flour and substituted applesauce for the oil. I also used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 Splenda to make this even more healthy. It was a hit of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I was searching for a recipe for the county fair and I ran across this one. It is very good the texture is very nice, with the pecans, figs and raisins. All and all a great recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States