Fragrant Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Very good and surprisingly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
My family loved this recipe. I doubled the amount of curry and added shredded carrots and sliced zucchini, as well as eliminating the tomatoes. Very versatile, great one dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Easy and delicious, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kanata, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Very, very good. I followed the recipe to a T....only added the cilantro to the dish while cooking. (I do this all the time....dried from Penzeys Spice Company). Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBTOUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
Fantastic recipe! For me, this is a great base. My family and I enjoy REALLY SPICY and REALLY SPICY HOT food. I used skinless boneless chicken strips that I boiled, drained and cut into chunks. I too drained the tomatoes. I used a vidalia onion, regular coconut milk, and doubled the curry powder. I also added Hot Curry Paste to the level of spicy hot that we like. With about 10 minutes left, I cut a Red Bell Pepper into strips and threw it in; we like our peppers a little crunchy. If I had some sliced water chestnuts they would have gone in as well. Terrific!!! The leftovers are screaming my name as I type. Gotta go.... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Delicious recipe and really easy to make. Two-day-old leftovers were even better as the flavors had really permeated the chicken. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This was terrific tasting. We really enjoyed in our home, serving it with a nutty rice pilaf. Added about 4 tablespoons on flour to thicken the sauce and let it simmer for 30 minutes. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly. A keeper in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
My husband, kids and I all love curry and we thought this recipe was great. I made just a few alterations to the recipe as posted. I also used organic spices, meat, broth and herbs (our family preference). I did not use rotisserie chicken, but instead cut four boneless, skinless chicken breasts into small chunks. I dredged these in flour, salt and pepper and browned them in a skillet with a bit of oil. (I used a stainless skillet, rather than non-stick, so that I would have lots of brown bits when I was done.) I deglazed the pan with the chicken broth. This seemed to give the broth a better flavor and the browned flour left in the pan thickened it a bit. I set the broth and chicken aside, and followed the rest of the instructions as listed. My only other alterations were to chop, rather than slice, the onion and to vary the spices (no cloves, half the amount of cinnamon, more curry and a dash more cayenne). I also used regular coconut milk rather than light. I did not have a problem with this recipe being too soupy, as others have reported. I did, however, drain the tomatoes (as others have recommended) and perhaps dredging the chicken in flour helped. It also needed a bit of salt when done cooking. Overall, though, it was great. I served it with jasmine rice and fresh cilantro, but passed on the mango chutney. Some fresh nan bread would have made it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This was amazing! I did everything as follows and eliminated the chicken stock all together, which gave it a thicker, creamier texture and served over basmati rice, with naan on the side. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonaj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I followed everything exactly, except didn't a can of chicken broth. I decided to mix a little powdered chicken broth with water and added it until it got to a consistency I liked. We are on a low-carb diet, so we just ate this plain - without rice - and loved it. It was very easy to make and tasted like it cooked all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States