Fragrant Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Made this twice now and my daughter made it once. We agree that its excellent. Served over basmati rice, with a colorful veggie or two, this makes a fantastic, easy, weeknight meal. If you replace the vegetable oil with coconut oil, the flavors are even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
As is I have no idea what it would be like! We omitted the chicken broth altogether but used an 18.25oz can of petite cut tomatoes instead of 14oz. Used 5 chicken breasts instead of the rotisserie chicken. Added an extra Tbsp of curry powder - could've easily doubled it! This was really yummy!! Boys (6.5 & 4) LOVE Indian food - so this one was also a hit!! :) It does NOT have as much coconut flavor as I was expecting, but that might improve if a full-fat can was used... or even just the cream off of one full-fat one... Next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Not too spicy. Has good flavor. Was really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I did not follow the recipe exactly- after reading other reviews, it seemed like the curry would turn out soupy rather than saucy, so I made several small changes that resulted in a really lovely curry. First off, I omitted the cayenne pepper (not a fan), and increased the curry to about 3 tablespoons. I didn't have cooked chicken, so I just cubed several boneless, skinless chicken breasts, and planned for a longer cooking time. To reduce the liquid, I added the tomatoes with their liquid, and the coconut milk but skipped the chicken broths instead adding some chicken bouillon for extra flavor. By simmering for about 45 minutes, the chicken was tender, the sauce reduced nicely, and the curry was hit with my picky eaters. My kids even requested leftovers for lunch, and asked to have this added to our regular meal rotation. Pretty fantastic with jasmine rice and fresh baked naan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ford, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Amazing! I doubled the curry and added chopped carrots, but other than that I followed the recipe. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
It was easy, but not fragrant - it was rather boring tasting, but in adding in some craisins that actually improved the taste - gave it a little sweet kick that it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was only ok. It wasn't bland, but the flavors didn't blend together well. If I were to make this again, I would add regular coconut milk instead of lite. Had to simmer twice as long to get a stew like consistency. Next time I will stick with my regular curry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Never made Curry before...Liked how easy this recipe was & the flavors were fantastic! Very little left over..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Very good flavor, easy to make. I simmered it for closer to 40 minutes than the 20 stated in the recipe because it was still quite soupy after only 20 minutes. I would try adding a container of mire poix next time because I like carrot and celery in dishes like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Yum! Made as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States