Fragrant Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I looked over the other reviews and took what I thought would work, and then went from there. I did make changes from the original including: - omitting the broth, adding some salt in its place. I thought the mix had the perfect amt of liquid. - adding two small red potatoes in the oil, before adding the onion. one sweet potato may be interesting. - added some sliced zucchini, red pepper flakes, 1 additional Tbsp of curry and about 1 tsp of brown sugar. I am not good at keeping exact measurements but apparently a little creativity turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Other reviewers have mentioned it, but this recipe feels like it's lacking something. It has a nice flavor, but it lacks any sort of depth - sort of bland. While we were eating I was surprised at how spicy it was, but even that didn't boost the flavor level. Maybe I was disappointed at how it tasted because my kitchen smelled so delicious while it was cooking. And, as with other reviewers, I found it difficult to thicken. Whether I make it again or not is debatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was EASY to prepare and very tasty. I sliced semi-frozen chicken breasts and added just after the onions started to turn translucent. The chicken released juices into the mixtures but cooked up just fine. Unfortunately, I didn't have coconut milk on hand and ended up substituting milk, more chicken broth mixed with a little cornstarch and a few pinches of sugar. It didn't thicken as well as coconut milk or have as rich of a flavor, but it was still delicious. Will definitely make again with coconut milk. More fattening, but I'm sure it will be worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I thought this recipe was pretty good. I omitted the tomatoes. I had to add salt for taste and flour to thicken the sauce. I also decided to add some cardamom & turmeric. My son had thirds as well. I will be making this again, but maybe trying yogurt instead of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April N.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was an okay recipe. My husband enjoys my other curry recipe better. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
this was delicious and i will definitely make this again! i didn't have any pre-cooked chicken so i just sauteed cubed chicken cutlets. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I decided to try this recipe because of all the great reviews, but I was really disappointed by it. I followed the recipe exactly, but when it was done and ready to eat, it was bland and boring. Despite all those spices there just wasn't much there! I added a (lot) more cayenne, curry, and even some sugar. Still, it wasn't that great. I wished I'd had another can of coconut milk to add, but then it would have been *really* runny, because I had a hard time getting the sauce to thicken anyway. Sorry, but this recipe was a dud as far as I'm concerned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HODDIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Loved it! Chose this recipe to try because of the coconut milk - and then discovered I didn't have any when I was well into making it. Used half milk and half half-and-half and that worked just fine. Topped with toasted coconut, raisins, toasted almond slivers, chutney, and chopped green onions. Served with rice and very lightly candied carrots. Delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was good but not as amazing as I had expected based on other reviews. It has a nice smooth taste to it but I was expecting a bit more definition - and it was quite hard to get it to thicken properly. I had to resort to a bit of flour blend at the end. Might make this again but if so would add more spices and either diced carrots or apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Køge, Sjælland, Denmark

Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States