Fragrant Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I did not follow the recipe exactly- after reading other reviews, it seemed like the curry would turn out soupy rather than saucy, so I made several small changes that resulted in a really lovely curry. First off, I omitted the cayenne pepper (not a fan), and increased the curry to about 3 tablespoons. I didn't have cooked chicken, so I just cubed several boneless, skinless chicken breasts, and planned for a longer cooking time. To reduce the liquid, I added the tomatoes with their liquid, and the coconut milk but skipped the chicken broths instead adding some chicken bouillon for extra flavor. By simmering for about 45 minutes, the chicken was tender, the sauce reduced nicely, and the curry was hit with my picky eaters. My kids even requested leftovers for lunch, and asked to have this added to our regular meal rotation. Pretty fantastic with jasmine rice and fresh baked naan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ford, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Amazing! I doubled the curry and added chopped carrots, but other than that I followed the recipe. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
It was easy, but not fragrant - it was rather boring tasting, but in adding in some craisins that actually improved the taste - gave it a little sweet kick that it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was only ok. It wasn't bland, but the flavors didn't blend together well. If I were to make this again, I would add regular coconut milk instead of lite. Had to simmer twice as long to get a stew like consistency. Next time I will stick with my regular curry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Never made Curry before...Liked how easy this recipe was & the flavors were fantastic! Very little left over..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Very good flavor, easy to make. I simmered it for closer to 40 minutes than the 20 stated in the recipe because it was still quite soupy after only 20 minutes. I would try adding a container of mire poix next time because I like carrot and celery in dishes like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Yum! Made as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I made this while on a family vacation with my in-laws and it went over very well! I omitted the cayenne (just didn't have any), added vegetables (for double recipe: several mushrooms, 3 stalks celery, 5 carrots, 2 very small potatoes, & 1 can peas though I would have preferred frozen), doubled the garlic, used 3 lb cubed boneless skinless (raw) chicken breasts instead of a rotisserie chicken, halved the chicken broth (low salt) and added several dried Turkish apricots (quartered). It was served over brown basmati rice and garnished with chopped fresh cilantro & peach salsa. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Great flavor and smelled great. I made as directed, with exception that I doubled spices, cut chicken to 1 cup and added 2 cups of mixed veggies (peas, carrots, squash, zucc, broc, califlower). I doubt I would add the tomatoes again, the acid of the tomato cut a lot of the sweetness of the coconut milk. We needed to add more heat, a lot more heat with some red pepper flakes served table side. Minced fresh cilantro on top was a great addition. I bet water chesnuts and or raw cashews would be nice addition as well. Like others, I found it too much liquid in the sauce, even served over brown rice, would reduce chicken broth by half as well, or increase simmering time or add flour or cornstarch to thicken. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Delicious curry! Wasn't sure about the tomatoes and coconut milk together, but they were wonderful! Halved the onion and chicken. Added six carrots (cut into rounds), a head of cauliflower (roughly chopped), a diced sweet potato, and a sliced green pepper. (Green pepper for the last 10 minutes only!) Used regular coconut milk instead of light. Added salt, black pepper, and dark brown sugar to taste. Would've been even better with the cilantro and mango chutney if I'd had it! Regarding the thin broth... this is always how Thai restaurants serve their curries. When served over rice in a bowl, it gets absorbed. Try this one... you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States