Fragrant Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I would spice it a little more but it's very good. Smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
We really loved the flavor. Was worried it would be too sweet, but it wasn't. I used Rotel instead of diced tomatoes to add a bit more heat -- great addition. I would decrease the amount of liquid next time since it came out more like soup consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Definitely a keeper recipe!! Followed the recipe pretty closey, except I cut back on the chicken stock because of many reviews calling it too "Soupy". Burned off excess liquid towards the end of the simmer stage & perfect!! Served on a bed of brown rice w/ some Chickpea Tasty Bites, Naan & it was a perfect (not to mention inexpensive) Indian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monterrapin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I love this recipe!! We make it all the time ! I follow it exactly and serve it with rice and warm flatbread. Here's a time saving tip. I buy my rotisserie chicken from Costco but I get the package that's already shredded and packaged up! I half the bag because it's sold in a big pack and freeze the other half for next time I make the meal! Yummy stuff !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mitana
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I made exactly as written, with one exception, and it was wonderful! I like a bit of sweetness with my curries, and had some apples available. I cut them up, but was resigned to having them brown because I didn't have a lemon. Then I realized I did have a lime, so I added the lime juice to the apple pieces and sprinkled them on with the cilantro. The apple gave a crisp texture to some of the bites, and lent a sweet/sour combination that added another level of flavor to the curry. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Made this twice now and my daughter made it once. We agree that its excellent. Served over basmati rice, with a colorful veggie or two, this makes a fantastic, easy, weeknight meal. If you replace the vegetable oil with coconut oil, the flavors are even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
As is I have no idea what it would be like! We omitted the chicken broth altogether but used an 18.25oz can of petite cut tomatoes instead of 14oz. Used 5 chicken breasts instead of the rotisserie chicken. Added an extra Tbsp of curry powder - could've easily doubled it! This was really yummy!! Boys (6.5 & 4) LOVE Indian food - so this one was also a hit!! :) It does NOT have as much coconut flavor as I was expecting, but that might improve if a full-fat can was used... or even just the cream off of one full-fat one... Next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Not too spicy. Has good flavor. Was really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I did not follow the recipe exactly- after reading other reviews, it seemed like the curry would turn out soupy rather than saucy, so I made several small changes that resulted in a really lovely curry. First off, I omitted the cayenne pepper (not a fan), and increased the curry to about 3 tablespoons. I didn't have cooked chicken, so I just cubed several boneless, skinless chicken breasts, and planned for a longer cooking time. To reduce the liquid, I added the tomatoes with their liquid, and the coconut milk but skipped the chicken broths instead adding some chicken bouillon for extra flavor. By simmering for about 45 minutes, the chicken was tender, the sauce reduced nicely, and the curry was hit with my picky eaters. My kids even requested leftovers for lunch, and asked to have this added to our regular meal rotation. Pretty fantastic with jasmine rice and fresh baked naan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ford, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Amazing! I doubled the curry and added chopped carrots, but other than that I followed the recipe. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States