Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
5 stars for simple ingredients that contribute to a flavorful pasta dish. For ease I substituted diced tomatoes for whole peeled tomatoes, added 1/2 cup of white wine, 1/2 tsp of oregano and cut back on the red pepper flakes to 3/4 tsp, brought the mixture to a boil, and then simmered until the sauce thickened and reduced down, around 30 - 40 minutes. Added the shrimp and scallops to the sauce the last 5 minutes and let the heat cook the seafood (saves an additional pot to clean). Any type of seafood, mussels, clams, etc., would do well in this dish. Prior to serving stir in Italian parsley (flat leaf parsley) and 3 tbsp of fresh basil. Buon Apetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This is not the original recipe I used in years past, but it is close. I recommend the following minor modifications: fresh roma tomatos, not canned--(Blech!) a half cup of diced red pepper strips while sauteing the garlic. Then a dash of half and half and capers at the end to thicken and give depth and body. Finally, I grate fresh parmeasean and black pepper at serving time. This made it much better in my family's opinion. Sorry, no photos, the diners ate it before I could get out the camera. They nearly ate it right from the pot on the stove! I served with white bean salad and a bottle of chianti and a hot loaf of foccachia with olive oil and fresh canollis for dolche!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
I substituted 28 oz. crushed tomatoes. Only 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes was spicy enough for us; I think 1 tsp. would have been atomic. I'd suggest adding a smaller amount of the crushed red pepper flakes to start, tasting it, & then adding the amount that you (& your family) would prefer. You can always add more seasoning as needed but if it's too much, the recipe could be ruined. Also I just added the scallops & defrosted shrimp to the sauce at the end without cooking them in olive oil first. I served the dish over half a lb. of whole wheat angel hair pasta. Next time, I'm going to try adding some red wine to the sauce for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
i used diced peeled tomatoes with liquid from a can to save time. it needed a little something so i splashed in a bit of red wine, added basil, and sauteed onions. tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
I've made this 3 or 4 times in the past couple months and it is just the greatest! I also added mussels to mine and this recipe is just so awesome! I also added a little red wine...to die for! My son who goes to college about 4 hours away called me up one day and said, "Mom, I'm coming up tomorrow for the weekend...PLEASE make that spicy mussel stuff!" Of course, he was referring to this recipe. We all loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLFANCHICK1027

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was an excellent , simple to make recipe. I did add a can of Rotelle Habanero diced tomatoes to it because we like things REALLY hot, as well as a pinch of sugar for a little background flavor contrast. I doubled the recipe, and added the cooked al dente pasta to the skillet and tossed with the sauce for several minutes before serving. This allows the flavor to be absorbed into the linguine, as well as topping it with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stansbury Park, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Couldn't ask too much more from a recipe! Quick! Easy! Low fat (I reduced the amount of oil and salt I used) thus a great Weight Watcher meal! I add shrimp/scallops/etc. if I have them on hand, but I use this as one of the staple meals to help use up any firm fleshed fish my hubby brings home from fishing trips! I just cut it up in bite sized chunks and it works great for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Two words-SIMPLE and GOOD. I used 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes as someone suggested. I only did 1/2 tsp of red pepper but will increase it next time. If you like alot of sauce on your pasta you may want to double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Delicious! My husband had "3" helpings! Next time I will omit the salt. The seafood adds enough salt for my taste. I also added 1/2 mussels and cooked them with the shrimp and scallops until they opened. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This recipe is a nice base for a diavolo sauce, but the sauce as written in the recipe I would only give 3 starts. I made the following changes/additions which made it a 5 star, so I averaged it out and gave it 4! Here are the additions/differences: I put all 4 TBL of olive oil in the saucepan with 6-8 cloves of garlic(depending on size), but instead of crushing I used a garlic press and just minced it. I also cut up a red bell pepper in strips and sautéed with the garlic. I used 2 14.5oz cans of diced tomatoes with basil, garlic, oregano in it. I added 1 TBL of the "Itallian Herb" herb paste that you can buy in the produce section, and 1/4 cup of a Carbernet/Merlot mixed Red Wine, but I am sure any Red wine would be fine. 1 tsp of red pepper flakes was right on for my taste, but if you fear heat you might want to add less to begin with. I simmered it more like 45 minutes. Instead of sauteing the seafood, I just added it to the sauce with 10 minutes left in the simmering. This sauce is very liquidy, and I liked it that way, but if you want it thicker I would advise using less tomato juice or simmering longer. I think next time I might use fresh Campari Tomatoes instead of canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States