Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made this for the first time yesterday I really loved. My boyfriend's family enjoyed it. I definitely make this again. I followed the recipe just as it said. It had a little kick to it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
So good and so easy. I did cook the seafood in the sauce instead of separately because I wanted to incorporate those flavors, too. But it added more liquid, so I ended up adding in a can of tomato paste to thicken it up. Even with my modifications, this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Too hot for me and the tomatoes I used were canned and a little tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I made this Friday night. It was quick and simple and I love its short ingredient list. Definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
5 stars for simple ingredients that contribute to a flavorful pasta dish. For ease I substituted diced tomatoes for whole peeled tomatoes, added 1/2 cup of white wine, 1/2 tsp of oregano and cut back on the red pepper flakes to 3/4 tsp, brought the mixture to a boil, and then simmered until the sauce thickened and reduced down, around 30 - 40 minutes. Added the shrimp and scallops to the sauce the last 5 minutes and let the heat cook the seafood (saves an additional pot to clean). Any type of seafood, mussels, clams, etc., would do well in this dish. Prior to serving stir in Italian parsley (flat leaf parsley) and 3 tbsp of fresh basil. Buon Apetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I, too used canned tomatoes (oooh, for shame!) and it tasted GREAT! My husband had two heaping servings. I only had scallops so I used them with no shrimp. I added only 1/4 t red pepper flakes because DH doesn't like spicy. I also added some other Italian spices (oregano and basil). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Loved it! A creamy, garlicy sauce that really fit the bill for our family! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra
Home Town: Bancroft, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This recipe is a nice base for a diavolo sauce, but the sauce as written in the recipe I would only give 3 starts. I made the following changes/additions which made it a 5 star, so I averaged it out and gave it 4! Here are the additions/differences: I put all 4 TBL of olive oil in the saucepan with 6-8 cloves of garlic(depending on size), but instead of crushing I used a garlic press and just minced it. I also cut up a red bell pepper in strips and sautéed with the garlic. I used 2 14.5oz cans of diced tomatoes with basil, garlic, oregano in it. I added 1 TBL of the "Itallian Herb" herb paste that you can buy in the produce section, and 1/4 cup of a Carbernet/Merlot mixed Red Wine, but I am sure any Red wine would be fine. 1 tsp of red pepper flakes was right on for my taste, but if you fear heat you might want to add less to begin with. I simmered it more like 45 minutes. Instead of sauteing the seafood, I just added it to the sauce with 10 minutes left in the simmering. This sauce is very liquidy, and I liked it that way, but if you want it thicker I would advise using less tomato juice or simmering longer. I think next time I might use fresh Campari Tomatoes instead of canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This dish was so good! I thought it was too simple but after reading some reviews I decided to make it. Everyone loved it and everything was gone before I knew it! I've made it many times since and have added other seafood such as bay scallops and it's still quite delicious! Thumbs way up from us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
One of my favs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmozafari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States