Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This could have been a 5-star review if the seasoning (as the recipe is written) would have delivered on the heat I was expecting with this being named "Brother Devil") but because we had to add extra red pepper flakes to even get a little kick on it--it's only 4-stars. Now, for the positives, really delicious, and easy enough I'm putting this in my non-cooking daughter's recipe box I'm building for her as she prepares to move out on her own. Easy enough for every day, but with the right sides (good garlic bread & a nice salad) you've got dinner for company without any sweat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Good, but I found it to be a bit bland. Possibly it some onions and basil can be added to increase flavor. There is definitely not enough sauce for 16 oz. of linguine, which is possibly why I found it bland. Next time I will either double the sauce or use 1/2 the amount of pasta. I did find this easy and healthy which was a plus. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nokesville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Well that was delightful to make AND eat. I substituted lobster and added some spinach sauteed in garlic/butter for more color. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Scale back on salt. I wasn't paying attention, blindly followed the recipe and regretted it later. Oh, and I only used half the crushed red peppers and it was STILL spicy. Yikes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Loved loved LOVED this! I made it exactly as stated. Didn't need to change a thing. Might down the pepper flakes a bit. It was pretty spicey but excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa~May

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Really good-next time I'll add more red pepper flakes as we like it spicier. Also says it serves 8 but I'd say closer to 6 if you like it saucy (so basically one serving of pasta with 1 1/3 servings of sauce.) I threw in some fresh spinach at the end too which was really yummy. Topped it with a little feta and mmmmmgood! Excellent recipe-we've been trying to eat healthier but don't want to sacrifice flavor-this is definitely a have your cake and eat it too entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
very spicy - only use a dash of red pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
My family loved this recipe and I loved the fact that it was very healthy for them. They call this a do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was a tough one to review for me. I really liked it but my husband wasn't a fan, which is a reversal when it comes to seafood with pasta. I would give it 4.5 stars and he'd give it 3, so 4 it is. We used fresh, diced roma tomatoes instead of canned plus a splash of dry vermouth to make up some of the liquid, and Trader Joe's seafood mix instead of just shrimp. 1.5 tsp was way too much salt for us, maybe because of the vermouth? Next time I'll start with 1/2 tsp and go from there. I really liked the flavors and it was the perfect amount of spicy for us. This was great with garlic bread and fresh grated parmesan. I know that diavolo is a thin sauce, which I really enjoy, but next time I'm going to add some tomato paste and see if my husband likes the thicker sauce a bit better. Thanks for a tasty sauce--I think it would be great with sausage instead of seafood too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
As written just OK - there is no way there is enough sauce for 1 pound of pasta, I would start with a half of box. Needs modifications, but decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States