Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was a tough one to review for me. I really liked it but my husband wasn't a fan, which is a reversal when it comes to seafood with pasta. I would give it 4.5 stars and he'd give it 3, so 4 it is. We used fresh, diced roma tomatoes instead of canned plus a splash of dry vermouth to make up some of the liquid, and Trader Joe's seafood mix instead of just shrimp. 1.5 tsp was way too much salt for us, maybe because of the vermouth? Next time I'll start with 1/2 tsp and go from there. I really liked the flavors and it was the perfect amount of spicy for us. This was great with garlic bread and fresh grated parmesan. I know that diavolo is a thin sauce, which I really enjoy, but next time I'm going to add some tomato paste and see if my husband likes the thicker sauce a bit better. Thanks for a tasty sauce--I think it would be great with sausage instead of seafood too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
As written just OK - there is no way there is enough sauce for 1 pound of pasta, I would start with a half of box. Needs modifications, but decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Delicious! I cut the red pepper flakes in half & it was still spicy. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great sauce recipe and very easy! I added more pepper flakes (I love it spicy!) and onions and green peppers. It added thickness to the sauce that I believe it needed since the tomatoes were not drained. I will buy diced tomotoes next time, it took more time to cut them up to get the same consistency. I will also use larger shrimp, the small were slightly swallowed up by the flavor of everything else. This is a great recipe to use with other red sauce recipes where I purchase canned spaghetti sauce. Taste just like the restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Very good pasta recipe! I added half an onion and some wine like others suggested and also upped the amount of red pepper. I'll def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Excellent Meal with flavor & taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Tried this tonight yummy. I used half the can chipotle peppers and a whole can of tomatoes with chilies. I used a hand blender to make this into a thick sauce. I followed the recipe and some suggestions and it was wonderful. Thanks for the recipe and everyone else for your recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I used canned fire roasted tomatoes with garlic and we really like heat, so I added the red pepper flakes and some chayenne pepper as well. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Love it! As good as in the resteraunt. And so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
My boyfriend loves seafood and I love pasta so this was a perfect combination for the two of us! We also used a can of the crushed tomatoes and I think that was the right decision. Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley
Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States