Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Too hot for me and the tomatoes I used were canned and a little tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I made this Friday night. It was quick and simple and I love its short ingredient list. Definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
5 stars for simple ingredients that contribute to a flavorful pasta dish. For ease I substituted diced tomatoes for whole peeled tomatoes, added 1/2 cup of white wine, 1/2 tsp of oregano and cut back on the red pepper flakes to 3/4 tsp, brought the mixture to a boil, and then simmered until the sauce thickened and reduced down, around 30 - 40 minutes. Added the shrimp and scallops to the sauce the last 5 minutes and let the heat cook the seafood (saves an additional pot to clean). Any type of seafood, mussels, clams, etc., would do well in this dish. Prior to serving stir in Italian parsley (flat leaf parsley) and 3 tbsp of fresh basil. Buon Apetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
343 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I, too used canned tomatoes (oooh, for shame!) and it tasted GREAT! My husband had two heaping servings. I only had scallops so I used them with no shrimp. I added only 1/4 t red pepper flakes because DH doesn't like spicy. I also added some other Italian spices (oregano and basil). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Loved it! A creamy, garlicy sauce that really fit the bill for our family! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra
Home Town: Bancroft, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This recipe is a nice base for a diavolo sauce, but the sauce as written in the recipe I would only give 3 starts. I made the following changes/additions which made it a 5 star, so I averaged it out and gave it 4! Here are the additions/differences: I put all 4 TBL of olive oil in the saucepan with 6-8 cloves of garlic(depending on size), but instead of crushing I used a garlic press and just minced it. I also cut up a red bell pepper in strips and sautéed with the garlic. I used 2 14.5oz cans of diced tomatoes with basil, garlic, oregano in it. I added 1 TBL of the "Itallian Herb" herb paste that you can buy in the produce section, and 1/4 cup of a Carbernet/Merlot mixed Red Wine, but I am sure any Red wine would be fine. 1 tsp of red pepper flakes was right on for my taste, but if you fear heat you might want to add less to begin with. I simmered it more like 45 minutes. Instead of sauteing the seafood, I just added it to the sauce with 10 minutes left in the simmering. This sauce is very liquidy, and I liked it that way, but if you want it thicker I would advise using less tomato juice or simmering longer. I think next time I might use fresh Campari Tomatoes instead of canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This dish was so good! I thought it was too simple but after reading some reviews I decided to make it. Everyone loved it and everything was gone before I knew it! I've made it many times since and have added other seafood such as bay scallops and it's still quite delicious! Thumbs way up from us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
One of my favs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmozafari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was amazing! I did use frozen mussel meat instead of scallops as they are much cheaper and I feel more flavorful as well as adding a splash of red wine and reducing the olive oil. This is the recipe I have been searching for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written and I thought it had just the right amount of spice; however, I did no like how acidic the canned tomatoes seemed. Perhaps fresh tomatoes would do the trick. I would make this again but I would change the tomato part of it somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoagieswife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States