Fourth of July Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This is a really great potato salad. I've never made a potato salad with sour cream before and will definitely use this as my recipe going forward. For me, it was nothing but creamy -- everyone loved it. I used light cream instead of heavy cream, and I added 8 strips of chopped bacon instead of the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I ran my onion through the food processor before adding it to the potato salad ingredients. I did not add the full amount of salt, just enough to taste. I did add some of the family's personal potato salad ingredients (chopped pickles, hot sauce, onion powder, garlic powder, chives) but other than that I stayed true to the recipe. It looked like potato salad should but it wasn't a hit with my family. My husband thought it was too creamy and too sweet. My oldest boy was polite but I could tell he didn't care for it. My youngest wouldn't eat past the first bite. I'm sorry, this wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I certainly disagree with the reviews that said it had to much vinegar. This is one of the best potato salads I've ever had and I didn't change a thing from the origonal recipe. I used fresh apple cider vinegar and quite frankly, I could barely taste it so it sure wasn't over powering. This will be a regular in my house from now on. Gary D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was VERY strong in the vinegar department....almost tasted like it had been around too long. I had wanted something different and it was, but not in a good way. I will go back to my same old same old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kimball, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Dix, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Too much vinegar. Using plain mustard has plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I myself prefer tangy potato salads to sweet ones. Sounds a lot like one I make except I use deli mustard and add lots of dill pickles. I never add sugar or miracle whip which in my opinion is just nasty anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryver MystDragon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
First of all, this is NOT your everyday potato salad. It's very rich, very creamy. I make this a couple times a year when I want to be BAD! The only changes I make are; I don't use any heavy cream and I use tarragon vinegar instead of cider vinegar. Also, I add chopped celery. Then I garnish it with halved cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Getzville, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I do not usually add comments but I feel I must in this case. To halfcup - southern cooks ALWAYS peel/dice potatoes before they are cooked and I do not see this recipe listed as the ultimate recipe for a holiday. Someone has a recipe to share and they share it. If you do not like it just say so giving the reasons. That is all that is needed in a recipe review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I made this potato salad last weekend for a family gathering and it was a huge hit. I had never thought to marinate the potatoes before but it really adds a great dimension to them. I followed some of the suggestions other reviewers had and halved the vinegar and added a touch more mustard. I also added some sweet dill to balance out the vinegar. I used white vinegar and regular mustard since I didn't have cider vinegar or dry mustard on hand. My family doesn't like raw onions so I replaced that with onion powder. The longer you chill the dish before serving, the more the vinegar flavor mellows. This is a great basic recipe to add some custom touches to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Made this healthier in a few ways. I used light Miracle Whip instead of mayo, used light sour cream, and used 2% milk instead of heavy whipping cream, and it seemed to turn our great! But, this recipe definitely NEEDS MORE MUSTARD for sure. I added at least a 1/8 cup regular mustard, possibly more to taste. We didn't add eggs since we don't love them, but added some pickles for crunch and green onions instead of white. Really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States