Fourth of July Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This is a really great potato salad. I've never made a potato salad with sour cream before and will definitely use this as my recipe going forward. For me, it was nothing but creamy -- everyone loved it. I used light cream instead of heavy cream, and I added 8 strips of chopped bacon instead of the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I ran my onion through the food processor before adding it to the potato salad ingredients. I did not add the full amount of salt, just enough to taste. I did add some of the family's personal potato salad ingredients (chopped pickles, hot sauce, onion powder, garlic powder, chives) but other than that I stayed true to the recipe. It looked like potato salad should but it wasn't a hit with my family. My husband thought it was too creamy and too sweet. My oldest boy was polite but I could tell he didn't care for it. My youngest wouldn't eat past the first bite. I'm sorry, this wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Adding sugar was detrimental to the overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I certainly disagree with the reviews that said it had to much vinegar. This is one of the best potato salads I've ever had and I didn't change a thing from the origonal recipe. I used fresh apple cider vinegar and quite frankly, I could barely taste it so it sure wasn't over powering. This will be a regular in my house from now on. Gary D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was VERY strong in the vinegar department....almost tasted like it had been around too long. I had wanted something different and it was, but not in a good way. I will go back to my same old same old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kimball, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Dix, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Too much vinegar. Using plain mustard has plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I myself prefer tangy potato salads to sweet ones. Sounds a lot like one I make except I use deli mustard and add lots of dill pickles. I never add sugar or miracle whip which in my opinion is just nasty anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryver MystDragon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
First of all, this is NOT your everyday potato salad. It's very rich, very creamy. I make this a couple times a year when I want to be BAD! The only changes I make are; I don't use any heavy cream and I use tarragon vinegar instead of cider vinegar. Also, I add chopped celery. Then I garnish it with halved cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Getzville, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I do not usually add comments but I feel I must in this case. To halfcup - southern cooks ALWAYS peel/dice potatoes before they are cooked and I do not see this recipe listed as the ultimate recipe for a holiday. Someone has a recipe to share and they share it. If you do not like it just say so giving the reasons. That is all that is needed in a recipe review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I made this potato salad last weekend for a family gathering and it was a huge hit. I had never thought to marinate the potatoes before but it really adds a great dimension to them. I followed some of the suggestions other reviewers had and halved the vinegar and added a touch more mustard. I also added some sweet dill to balance out the vinegar. I used white vinegar and regular mustard since I didn't have cider vinegar or dry mustard on hand. My family doesn't like raw onions so I replaced that with onion powder. The longer you chill the dish before serving, the more the vinegar flavor mellows. This is a great basic recipe to add some custom touches to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States