Fourth of July Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
This recipe was a bomb until it was "doctored" up a bit. It needs some zest such as using Miracle Whip & Mayo combined for flavor, which is was lacking. Thank goodness potato's are cheap. I also added more salt, pepper & some pimento as well as celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
Awful. Just awful. Not one person liked this potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
fantastic potato salad ... I was worried when some people said the cider vinegar was too much ... but I found it to be perfect ... didn't add eggs ... put 2 chopped ribs of celery and a chopped bunch of green onions in ... added 1/3 cup diced cilantro and 6 slices of crumbled bacon ... this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
If you like tangy potato salad, this one is for you. This is a classic potato salad. Be sure to add a little diced dill pickle for extra crunch and taste. Sprinkle paprika on top, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I've tried making potato salad before, but nothing great. This was absolutely fantastic. I used a tablespoon of Nathan's mustard instead of dry as I didn't have dry on hand. The ultimate compliment was from my Jewish Mother in Law who said it was the best she'd ever tasted and reminded her of what she'd had growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I absolutely love this recipe. I purposly make more than I think I need for a party so I will have leftovers. It is a creamy, true potato salad without having a bunch of nonsense ingredients mixed in and skewing the flavor and texture. Gets compliments every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Reduce the vinegar or pucker up! I would reduce by half maybe less than that.. my whole family complimented the recipe but said way too much vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
Excellent! Tastes just like a deviled egg potato salad. Make sure you let it chill overnight for best results. Made this all last summer and we never tired of it....great recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I myself prefer tangy potato salads to sweet ones. Sounds a lot like one I make except I use deli mustard and add lots of dill pickles. I never add sugar or miracle whip which in my opinion is just nasty anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryver MystDragon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I ran my onion through the food processor before adding it to the potato salad ingredients. I did not add the full amount of salt, just enough to taste. I did add some of the family's personal potato salad ingredients (chopped pickles, hot sauce, onion powder, garlic powder, chives) but other than that I stayed true to the recipe. It looked like potato salad should but it wasn't a hit with my family. My husband thought it was too creamy and too sweet. My oldest boy was polite but I could tell he didn't care for it. My youngest wouldn't eat past the first bite. I'm sorry, this wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States