Fourth of July Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I LOVE this recipe! I have been searching for one similar to my mom's, and this is it! The vinegar adds a wonderful flavor. I omitted the onions and added chopped dill pickle...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This recipe is exceptional! Everyone thought I bought this well flavored potato salad from a deli. I followed the recipe as is with the exception of adding some diced celery for crunch. I use a grater to grate the onion which makes it very fine so that it incorporates well and evenly. It stays creamy and didn't soak up or get runny overnight. For optimal flavor chill overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Not a big hit. Everyone thought it tasted way to vinegary. Sorry but thanks for letting us try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
fantastic potato salad ... I was worried when some people said the cider vinegar was too much ... but I found it to be perfect ... didn't add eggs ... put 2 chopped ribs of celery and a chopped bunch of green onions in ... added 1/3 cup diced cilantro and 6 slices of crumbled bacon ... this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Wonderful recipe. Easy to make. The only thing I added was right before serving I sprinkled it with Old Bay Seasoning. This was a huge hit at our cookout this evening!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I love potato salad, but had never made it before. This one was wonderful. My husband (who only eats German potato salad) at most of it. Now everytime we have to bring a side dish, he askes me to make it. So there will be 4th of July Potato Salad at Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This was the BEST potato salad that I have had in a LONG time! I only make "easy" recipes and this was so easy. It was a hit at my Fourth of July picnic! I think the apple cider vinegar was the key ingredient that helped make it so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Outstanding recipe! This was the first time I ever tried to make potato salad and talk about a HIT! EVERYONE loved it. I made enough for 12 people and it was the only thing that was gone within the first hour! I got rave reviews. Thanks for the GREAT recipe! EDIT (07/04/08): Once again, this potato salad recipe was the hit of the bar-b-que. I actually had people offer to BUY the recipe from me. When I told them that this recipe has gotten some 1-star reviews, everyone agreed that the person must have made it wrong because this was the best potato salad recipe ever. All thirty-five people at my party said so. So I say, give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari the Amazon
Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
GREAT recipe. I jazzed it up a little by adding some diced dill pickle, crumbled baccon (extra crispy), and minced red onion. Very yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Befitting its title, I made this salad today, July 4th. We couldn't have enjoyed it more! The creamy mixture of the sour cream, mayo, and cream is especially luscious. Also, marinating the potatoes in the vinegar beforehand is a great idea because it allows the salad to take on multi-dimensional flavor. The only thing I changed was that I used a mixture of white vinegar and red wine vinegar; using these, I felt that the 1/3 cup specified was a good amount-- not too vinegary as others noted. I added a little bit of prepared dijon mustard, in addition to the dry mustard, to the vinegar mixture. I also added about a cup of chopped celery. This will be my basic potato salad from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States