Fourth of July Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
If you like tangy potato salad, this one is for you. This is a classic potato salad. Be sure to add a little diced dill pickle for extra crunch and taste. Sprinkle paprika on top, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Good recipe. Family really liked it although I found it to be a little soupier than I would have likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
I've tried a few potato salad recipes from this site; this one is my favorite. It's creamy, but also tangy. Also, it's beautiful, especially if you make it with red potatoes and keep the skins on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
This is almost like my mom's potato salad and hers can't be beat! Just forget the real mayo, cream, and sour cream and use Miracle Whip in place of them. Add some thinly sliced radishes for color and crunch and you'll love this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
Not a hit with our gathering. I think it was the vinegar, sugar, and heavy cream; also the lack of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
This is the first time I've made potatoe salad. I really enjoy this recipe. I changed it some by adding 4 tablespoons of Grey Poupon mustard and few teaspoons of Dill. I omitted adding the cream since I found that with the mayo and sour cream the consistency was what we like ( not thick and not liquid). At first, I didn't like the salad. The vinegar taste in my opinion was to strong. As the salad sat in the fridge the vinegar taste became much more subtle and complimented the salad. Also, you must have alot of time to make this salad. It took me alot longer than what is suggested. There are many steps to this salad..peeling the potatoes, cooking them, marinating the potatoes,cooking the eggs, cutting the onion and mixing all of the creamy mixture. I wish the total time was 50 minutes. It was closer to 2 hours but worth the time in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
This is what potato salad is supposed to taste like. The vinegar bath gives the little tang that potato salad needs. I make it a day ahead to let the flavors blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarion, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
This was a good, creamy potato salad. I added some chopped dill pickle. You could also add some chopped jalepeno pepper if you like it will zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
Excellent! Tastes just like a deviled egg potato salad. Make sure you let it chill overnight for best results. Made this all last summer and we never tired of it....great recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States