Fourteen Layer Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I definatly Love this recipe Nell Thank You. For the Persons having trouble with this cake... First off, her measurements in this recipe is to the Science no adjustments with the amounts. First the batter- you should put 3/4 cup of batter per 8 inch pan; I assume she made a type-O. Next the frosting; before you begin you should understand the meaning of a ROLLING BOIL. A rolling boil is when all liquid is bubbling and breaking at the surface and liquid is rising. When you have reached a rolling boil then time 2 full minutes for it to continue to boil then take off heat and blend for 1 minute.(If you don't do this frosting precisly as stated you will have a runny mess that want set). Immediatly pour a layer of frosting in-between each layer of warm cake (I work with 3 layers at a time; I cook 3 then frost them while I'm cooking more). Of course this is a time consuming creation but let me tell you the outcome is raving. One more pointer: after you have finished the layering of all 12-14 layers let the remaing frosting sit to thicken a little (but still pourable) before you frost the top and sides. After the frosting has set on the cake Nearly like store bought icing then smooth the sides with the frosting that has oozed onto the plate. I suggest using a plate that is at least an inch in depth (A tupperware cake-taker is great using the deep-well side). I am also a Southern Cook/baker from North Carolina and believe me this is a Wonderful Cake To Create.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
My 89 year old grandmother has been making a cake similar to this for many years. Her batter recipe differs slightly - only use 1 cup of milk and 3 1/2 cups of self rising flour. To make the batter: cream the oil, margarine, vanilla & sugar together; add the 6 eggs; add 3 1/2 cups flour then add one cup of milk only mixing for a minute after the addition of the milk. To make the filling (chocolate icing), use 3 cups of sugar, 6 heaping tablespoons (use a serving spoon) of cocoa powder and add enough water to make a paste (just eyeball it). Then add 1 can evaporated milk and 2 sticks of margarine. Bring mixture to a boil, cooking until just thick and stirring occasionally. Turn off heat and let sit on burner. You put this filling between each layer and to the remaining filling you add powdered sugar to make it thick (eyeball it). This becomes the icing for the cake - allow sit out uncovered so the icing will harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
For all of you out there having trouble with the icing, here is another alternative. This is the icing recipe I use for my 14 layer cake which does come out a little thicker (not that there is anything wrong with the one already listed!)But you do need to make the icing first. 1 stick margarine, 3 1/2 blocks unsweetened Bakers Chocolate, 2 cups evaporated milk, 1 tsp vanilla, 3 cups sugar & a dash of salt. Melt sugar & chocolate in saucepan then add other ingredients. Cook until thick stirring constantly. Ice each layer as it comes out of the oven. Hope this helps! From another Carolina Girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I wanted to impress my husband for his birthday. A chocolate layer cake is his favorite and spending more time or working more than the writer indicated was fine, so I ignored that in other reviews. Do NOT ignore however those upset about the recipe not working. It states a 1/4 cup of batter for each layer, it should be 1/4 inch of batter. The recipe for the batter is the only thing you should take from this disaster. That was fine. I read what everyone had to say and took my time with the ingredients, measured everything out before baking and mixing, and it still turned out terrible. It is true, the frosting NEVER set. After 24 hours of being soupy frosting, the cake was so terrible I had to throw it away and alas my hubby had not birthday cake. 24 HOURS!!!! And it never set!!!! In the end I had a very gummy mess on my cake plate and will never try this again. My advice, don't walk, but run from this recipe. wshooter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
If you follow the directions by CarolinaGirl34 this recipe is perfect. I have never made this and my boyfriend's parents were going to order it from somewhere for Thanksgiving. Instead of them ordering it, I volunteered to make it and made my 'Practice Cake' for my office Thanksgiving party. It was a huge hit with a big 'wow' factor. If you adjust the measurements as indicated, and make sure to bring the icing to a rolling boil, it will be fine. It's delicious. And when you cut into the cake it's beautiful. I sprinkled chopped pistachio's on top. I would recommend something like that to make it prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I had baked cakes for 30+ years but had never heard of the 14 layer cake before I moved to Georgia. It's all the rage down here! This cake recipe is great but as with many other reviewers, I don't recommend using this icing recipe as there is way too much liquid in it for it to ever set. I am submitting a recipe to help you all achieve success. Look for it titled: Chocolate Buttermilk Frosting. It's easy, smooth, versatile, and is fluid enough to spread but will not be runny. By the way, cook time is longer than 30 minutes when you have to bake 14 layers, 3 at a time for 12 minutes each. You also have to wash pans and re-grease them in between baking each batch which adds to your cook time. Give yourself a good 3 hours at least and I loved the idea of using parchment paper in the bottom of the pans, even after greasing and flouring them. No sticking problems with that, but a few extra minutes cutting paper to fit the pans. It's worth the time. I get rave reviews when I bake this cake for my friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I love this recipe! We have it every year at holiday gatherings, but I've never had the recipe. I followed all of the suggestions submitted by CAROLINAGIRL34 and had no problems whatsoever. I did adjust the recipe to accommodate 9" cake pans and plain flour. To do so, the list of ingredients changed as follows. For the batter: 1/2 cup + 2tbs +2 tsp butter flavored shortening; 1/2 cup butter; 2 1/3 cups white sugar; 7 eggs; 3 1/2 cups milk; 3 1/2 cups all purpose flour; 2 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract; 2 tbs +1 tsp baking powder; 3 1/2 cups milk. For the icing: 3 1/2 cups white sugar; 1 cup + 2 tbs. + 2tsp. butter; 1/2 cup +1 tbs. + 1tsp. unsweetened cocoa powder; 1/4 cup + 2 tsp. water; 2 1/3 cups evaporated milk. I increased the amount of batter in each pan to 1 cup. My cake was the hit of our Thanksgiving table and everyone was astonished the cake was as moist as it was. Thanks to Nell and CAROLINAGIRL34!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSIMS001

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
I made this recipe with much success and garnered raves from friends and family during the holidays. This is a bit of confusion in the amounts and what type of milk to use in the list of ingredients but I made the adjustment by following the written directions and met with no problems at all. A labor intensive creation that's worth every bit of the effort. Nell was very generous to share this wonderful southern secret with us! (By the way, I'm from North Carolina and have had it many times. This one is the best!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
I have always been considered a pretty good baker, I'm always the "dessert bringer". This recipe was the worst baking disaster I have ever had. The frosting recipe needs adjusting too, it was more like chocolate soup. NEVER thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
This delicious cake, when prepared correctly, will ruin any other chocolate cake for you. It seems to be primarily a "southern" thing though. (I'm southern, by the way.) And each cook ultimately has to adjust and tweek their recipe a little. I don't know exactly why, but the same recipe always turns out a little differently in each cook's kitchen. (Maybe that's a southern thing too.) At any rate, once you've had it done right, it's bound to become one of your all-time favorites. One tip I've learned is to make two smaller batches of icing/frosting. The icing between the layers is supposed to be a little on the soupy side allowing the thin cake layers to partially absorb it. The icing on the outside of the cake should be a little stiffer, but still not as thick as conventional icing. Neither icing should be "fluffy" in the versions I've savored in the past. It's labor-intensive and time-consuming, but oh-so-good once you've got the right recipe [for you].
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States