Fourteen Layer Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I love this recipe! We have it every year at holiday gatherings, but I've never had the recipe. I followed all of the suggestions submitted by CAROLINAGIRL34 and had no problems whatsoever. I did adjust the recipe to accommodate 9" cake pans and plain flour. To do so, the list of ingredients changed as follows. For the batter: 1/2 cup + 2tbs +2 tsp butter flavored shortening; 1/2 cup butter; 2 1/3 cups white sugar; 7 eggs; 3 1/2 cups milk; 3 1/2 cups all purpose flour; 2 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract; 2 tbs +1 tsp baking powder; 3 1/2 cups milk. For the icing: 3 1/2 cups white sugar; 1 cup + 2 tbs. + 2tsp. butter; 1/2 cup +1 tbs. + 1tsp. unsweetened cocoa powder; 1/4 cup + 2 tsp. water; 2 1/3 cups evaporated milk. I increased the amount of batter in each pan to 1 cup. My cake was the hit of our Thanksgiving table and everyone was astonished the cake was as moist as it was. Thanks to Nell and CAROLINAGIRL34!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSIMS001

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I read all the reviews carefully and was sure my 14 layer cake would turn out. Brought the frosting to a FULL ROLLING BOIL etc. Only got 12 layers (disappointing, as it was for a 14th birthday). Don't know how this hapened as I used the same measuring cups I'd used for the ingredients. Frosting did not set well - perhaps this recipe works only at low altitude. Was VERY liquid when first came off the boil - nobody mentioned that part of the extra time would be spent washing the walls. Would like to see a picture of a successful 14 layer cake. Maybe mine turned out and I just don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
This is one of my favorite desserts. I have payed others to make this cake for me for years. It is very expensive to buy. Thanks Nell for the recipe. I have made it three times and each time I get better at it. It is not easy and does take time and practice but it is truly a delicious and impressive dessert once you master it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
This cake DID not turn out as I had expected. It was for Easter and we ended up with no dessert. The layers using the measurements stated are paper thin. I used 3/4-1/2 cup later on, but the layers are now uneven. The icing is a runny glob. Less milk yes! It ran all over the table. I was not pleased with three hours of intensive labor and money on ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Patient! you will need lots of patient on this cake,but trust me, all effort will be worth when you see the actual outcome. The batter is exactly 14 layers with 3/4 cup per layer. Nothing more and nothing less. I was a bit worry when I see the chocolate frosting very liquid, so, I put some in the fridge for the last cover for the whole cake. I've never eat or make this cake before, so it even amazed myself when I see the beautiful layer texture inside. It's definitely a must try recipe. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I definatly Love this recipe Nell Thank You. For the Persons having trouble with this cake... First off, her measurements in this recipe is to the Science no adjustments with the amounts. First the batter- you should put 3/4 cup of batter per 8 inch pan; I assume she made a type-O. Next the frosting; before you begin you should understand the meaning of a ROLLING BOIL. A rolling boil is when all liquid is bubbling and breaking at the surface and liquid is rising. When you have reached a rolling boil then time 2 full minutes for it to continue to boil then take off heat and blend for 1 minute.(If you don't do this frosting precisly as stated you will have a runny mess that want set). Immediatly pour a layer of frosting in-between each layer of warm cake (I work with 3 layers at a time; I cook 3 then frost them while I'm cooking more). Of course this is a time consuming creation but let me tell you the outcome is raving. One more pointer: after you have finished the layering of all 12-14 layers let the remaing frosting sit to thicken a little (but still pourable) before you frost the top and sides. After the frosting has set on the cake Nearly like store bought icing then smooth the sides with the frosting that has oozed onto the plate. I suggest using a plate that is at least an inch in depth (A tupperware cake-taker is great using the deep-well side). I am also a Southern Cook/baker from North Carolina and believe me this is a Wonderful Cake To Create.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
I am also a Georgia girl and the correct amount of milk in this recipe should be ONE CUP, not three! I tried this to see if it was better than the original recipe and it is not. Using three cups of milk destroys the batter, makes the layers rather flimsy and the cakes will not rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Thank you Nell!!! I've searched for this recipe for years to no avail. My grandmother used to make this cake for every holiday and I so wanted to recreat those memories. I've made this cake several times now, using the recipe exactly as written and have gotten so good at it I'm asked to give it in lieu of other gifts at Christmas. This IS a Southern thing and it's labor intensive but worth the effort every time. One hint: Before you begin, cut rounds of parchment or wax paper to line your pans. It helps to transfer the layers to the cake plate. I use 6 pans, baking 3 layers at the time while I'm icing the other 3. BTW, the measurements are precisely correct!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
This delicious cake, when prepared correctly, will ruin any other chocolate cake for you. It seems to be primarily a "southern" thing though. (I'm southern, by the way.) And each cook ultimately has to adjust and tweek their recipe a little. I don't know exactly why, but the same recipe always turns out a little differently in each cook's kitchen. (Maybe that's a southern thing too.) At any rate, once you've had it done right, it's bound to become one of your all-time favorites. One tip I've learned is to make two smaller batches of icing/frosting. The icing between the layers is supposed to be a little on the soupy side allowing the thin cake layers to partially absorb it. The icing on the outside of the cake should be a little stiffer, but still not as thick as conventional icing. Neither icing should be "fluffy" in the versions I've savored in the past. It's labor-intensive and time-consuming, but oh-so-good once you've got the right recipe [for you].
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I wound up with a HUGE mudslide!!!!! The amount of batter you put in each pan has to be wrong or you would wind up with 50 layers. (I figured this out and put 1/2 cup instead). The icing ingredients have to be wrong, too! (I didn't figure this out until it was too late) 2 cups of milk is much too much liquid! I wasted over 2 hours on this disaster!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States