Fourteen Carat Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jen Doe
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I spoil people w/ this cake...it has been fought over at work...even made hunger games themed cake 11x17 w/ 9x13 top layer w/ it...it is so very popular worth taking time for. I toast nuts and coconut to enhance flavor and use a little salted butter w/ sweet to take down some of the sweetness of the sugar and I also use the Neufchâtel cheese to cut down some of the fat but not the taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Doe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Very good, but FAR too much oil. I go half oil half applesauce and it works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great recipe!! Next time I will use less oil and instead use apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is now my go to recipe for carrot cake. I add extra cinnamon and sub apple sauce for the oil. So sweet and moist. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Granite Shoals, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I made this into cupcakes, and everyone has enjoyed them. I also added milk last second (just a splash) and only added 1/2 cup of oil. I just couldn't handle 2cups worth of oil. I also added more carrots, about 2.5 cups worth. To my amazement it seemed like I still needed more carrots. It tasted great, but it lacked the carrot flavor I was trying to incorporate and that is why I am rating it a 3. I am going to keep looking for a carrot cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I make this cake often for events and receive many requests for the recipe. Friends have described this cake as "the best I have ever eaten" and "Magic Cake". It is always a hit. Thanks for making everyone so happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
It is the one from the Old Farmer's cookbook. Best carrot cake recipe on the planet! I cut the oil back to 1/2 cup and used 1/2 cup pineapple juice in place of all the original oil. Baked in a 13x9 pan. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This cake really lives up to its name! Everyone at my Easter party loved the cake and the piece I got the next day was even better then before. I made the cake the day before my party and it was just so moist and delicious! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bells, Texas, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
great recipe! i'll definitely make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bri*YELL!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
ooops... better than my mom's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUADCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States