Four Spice Crackles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Delicious! I used margarine instead of butter and regular sugar instead of coarse sugar because I had to, and they were still wonderful. Having read the reviews, I cut back slightly on the molasses and ginger; I baked mine for 11 minutes until they were still slightly soft, and this produced a moist and chewy cookie. I will make them again, and will try to get the coarse sugar to roll them in this time... I'm sure this will make them absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Very good cookie. Very spicy and they stayed chewy and nice. I couldn't find coarse sugar, but then I decided to roll them in Christmas green and red sugar since it is coarse. They were very festive-looking and the coarse sugar adds a little crunchiness that regular sugar doesn't. Everyone in the family loved them, including my 2 1/2-year-old grandson. A new Christmas cookie addition to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookielover
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Theese cookies are the best spice cookies I have ever tasted! I ommited the molasses & used butter for shortening & I didn't refrigerate them.They still tasted as awsome as you described them to be.Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I have made these again and again- the dough lasts in the freezer really well (I just slice off a few cookies as I want them to bake). Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVEEVILLISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Cookies are wonderful. They are flat, and sweet! I didn't use that 1/2 cup of flour, but I should at least have used 1/4 of it. If you only have salted butter, cut back on the 1/2 tsp of salt. The cookie is very rich and spicy! My fiance is addicted already! And yes, my house smelled like the holidays! I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
wonderful!! I made a few small changes in the recipe. I used 1 tsp. ginger, and more cinnamon and cloves, and NO nutmeg. I also cut the flour to 2 1/4 cups. these cookies are crispy on the outside and soft and chewy inside. you don't want to stop eating these!! next time I will try more ginger, think it would be just as yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
These are great cookies! We baked one batch for our Holiday cookie gifts and are planning on doing a second batch because they are so tasty. We added 1/4 cup crystallized ginger to give them an added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEFF L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
These cookies were very easy to make and delicious! I read some of the other reviews that said they were too spicy but I found they were perfect. They were a hit with my family and were soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Yummy, but not quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I've made these cookies for the past five years and have gotten rave reviews! The coarse decorating sugar is worth the splurge; cookies look MUCH more appetizing and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States