Four Spice Crackles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Delicious! I used margarine instead of butter and regular sugar instead of coarse sugar because I had to, and they were still wonderful. Having read the reviews, I cut back slightly on the molasses and ginger; I baked mine for 11 minutes until they were still slightly soft, and this produced a moist and chewy cookie. I will make them again, and will try to get the coarse sugar to roll them in this time... I'm sure this will make them absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Very good cookie. Very spicy and they stayed chewy and nice. I couldn't find coarse sugar, but then I decided to roll them in Christmas green and red sugar since it is coarse. They were very festive-looking and the coarse sugar adds a little crunchiness that regular sugar doesn't. Everyone in the family loved them, including my 2 1/2-year-old grandson. A new Christmas cookie addition to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookielover
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Theese cookies are the best spice cookies I have ever tasted! I ommited the molasses & used butter for shortening & I didn't refrigerate them.They still tasted as awsome as you described them to be.Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I have made these again and again- the dough lasts in the freezer really well (I just slice off a few cookies as I want them to bake). Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVEEVILLISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Cookies are wonderful. They are flat, and sweet! I didn't use that 1/2 cup of flour, but I should at least have used 1/4 of it. If you only have salted butter, cut back on the 1/2 tsp of salt. The cookie is very rich and spicy! My fiance is addicted already! And yes, my house smelled like the holidays! I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
wonderful!! I made a few small changes in the recipe. I used 1 tsp. ginger, and more cinnamon and cloves, and NO nutmeg. I also cut the flour to 2 1/4 cups. these cookies are crispy on the outside and soft and chewy inside. you don't want to stop eating these!! next time I will try more ginger, think it would be just as yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilypads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
These are great cookies! We baked one batch for our Holiday cookie gifts and are planning on doing a second batch because they are so tasty. We added 1/4 cup crystallized ginger to give them an added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEFF L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
These cookies were very easy to make and delicious! I read some of the other reviews that said they were too spicy but I found they were perfect. They were a hit with my family and were soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Yummy, but not quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I've made these cookies for the past five years and have gotten rave reviews! The coarse decorating sugar is worth the splurge; cookies look MUCH more appetizing and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States