Four Spice Crackles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I haven't reviewed a recipe in a long time but after making these cookies I just had to. These cookies are so light and so very very tasty. The house smells so good, but then again, I did double the spices. Very good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
These were okay, but I won't make them again. They were very soft, dough-like, they did not crunch up around the edges how I like. The spice was nice, it was okay, but I didn't care for the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Yummy, but not quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darcy McElhaney Lichnerowicz
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These are decent, but not my favorite spice cookie. There's just a little something lacking, despite the large amount of spices used...I suspect that the shortening taste is the problem. Next time I'll try using butter-flavored shortening, if I make them again. The cookies do hold their shape nicely and the dough is easy to work with. I recommend only using the coarse sugar (I used Sugar in the Raw) to roll the cookies for that perfect finishing crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy McElhaney Lichnerowicz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
These were good! I just finished making them and they are tasty! I was a pretty happy with how they turned out, although I do like a more chewy cookie, they are the perfect happy medium for those who like both. Will take to the guys at work and see how fast they get gobbled up! Thanks for posting the recipie, it's now going to be a yearly fall tradition to bake these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Hubby and 12yr old absolutely loved them! They won't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Awesome cookies! I made them for a party and everyone raved about them. Really great around the holiday season. I used fresh ginger and it definitely added a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
These were easy to make and fun for my kids to roll in the sugar. They turned out perhaps a little too spicy for the kids, but I loved them. Also, they got left out over night and turned rather hard by morning, but I stuck them in a tupperware with a piece of bread and they softened right up in no time. I think next time I'll go lighter on the cloves and ginger, but we'll definitely be making these for holiday gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This is the BEST spice cookie recipe I have ever made. I've been making it for about 5 years now and I don't change a thing. I bring them everywhere, especially around the holidays, and always get asked for the recipe. I find they cook better in a gas oven (as opposed to electric) and the trick is to take them out as soon as they start to crack. Cooking them on parchment paper also keeps the bottoms soft! LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
These were good. I made the recipe exactly as stated and thought they were perfect... not too sweet, not too much spice. I did roll them in course Wilton's decorating sugar, which I am glad I did. They looked pretty and I liked the added texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States