Four Layer Hamburger and Macaroni Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This is pretty good, although I've made a few changes. I never did try it with frozen mac and cheese--I've always used Kraft mac and cheese in the box--and I always use leftover taco meat for the meat layers. It's a quick and easy meal, and the kids like it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This was my first recipe that I have made from allrecipes.com and I must admit..I am hooked! Leftovers are just as good, if not better! Just zap it in the mirco and BAM! I did add a bit more sour cream, only because I love dairy :) Other than that, I highly recommend this recipe if you want something quick, easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Used 2 (8oz) packages of mac & cheese, 1lb of ground beef, entire package of taco seasoning, 3/4 can of diced tomatoes and 1 cup of cheese. It turned out fine, tasted like mexican hamburger helper but with less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Even after reading the rave reviews I was sceptical, but this was really, really good. Even my picky 2 year-old loved it. I did however, use a 20 oz. frozen pkg. of Amy's Organic Mac n Cheese (to make it less junkfood-like), a whole lb. of ground chuck (made using the instructions on the pkg. of taco seasoning), and more crushed tortilla chips and cheese than what the recipe called for. I felt this hamburger/noodle ratio was great. I topped it off with mild jalapeno slices which I definitely recommend for a great flavor. Then, top off the finished product with sour cream. Mmmm, mmm, good. Even the leftovers were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
My picky kids loved this easy casserole! Although I added 1 lb. of ground beef instead of just a 1/2 lb. It just didn't seem enough. I also used 2 T. sour cream in each layer of macaroni as suggested by another member. I had to use crushed potato chips instead of tortilla chips because that was what I had on hand. I think this one is pretty failproof. Quick, easy and kid-friendly. Great for weeknights! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
My husband would give this five stars, he loved it. He actually said it was the best thing hes ever eaten. I do agree it was very tasty. Just also fattening, i used LF sour cream, and very lean meat, but still felt I was eating junk food. But it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
this is an excellent casserole that my family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This is one of the best "Quick" meals I have made in a while. I didn't add that much sour cream, just enough to make a difference, and it was great. My boyfriend liked it a lot, and it's tough to please him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I only rated this 4 stars because it's very easy to make and my kids love it... but I thought it lacked flavor. Since I always make mac'n'cheese from scratch with whole wheat pasta, my first attempt was a bit dry - will sauce it up more next time. Will also take other's suggestions to add some tomato sauce to the meat mixture as well as more spice. All in all a very good recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARSHYNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Line, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
Pretty good! I added some tomato sauce to the beef and a little more taco seasoning. Nice easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States