Four Layer Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
This is a great recipe! Instead of browning the crust, simply crush a bag of Pecan Sandies cookies and mix with a cup of melted butter to form a "crust". My mom always makes this with chocolate pudding for holidays, and there is never any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
I normally follow recipes fairly closely, but since I only had 15 minutes before people came over for a potluck, I followed the Pecan Sandies suggestion, and used 1/4 cup of white sugar (based on the not enough sugar comment) instead of the confectioner's sugar, and chocolate pudding. I placed these in short, clear cups, and they were beautiful. Lots of praise when they came out, and more after the first bite. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I make the filling with reduced-fat cream cheese, "light" whipped topping, sugar-free CHEESECAKE instant pudding and fat free evaporated milk. If I have it on hand, I'll spread another layer of light cherry pie filling over the top. I almost always have at least one person ask me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
This cake has been made in our family for years. Instead of using butterscotch I use one box of instant vanilla pudding and one instant box of chocolate along with the same amount of milk.. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
When I have made this dessert I have only used melted butter, flour & the pecan pieces for the crust and have always used 2 different kinds of pudding. The best combination was *french vanilla & butter pecan*- but I can no longer find butter pecan pudding in an instant. Very delicious with slices of strawberries or bananas on top along with sprinkles of the pecans. So fam. favorite now is vanilla with banana cream. I have made the crust in a 9x13 pan before but like to double the ingredients to get a fuller crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This timeless recipe has been around such a long time (I’ve been making this since the early ‘70s!) not just because it’s easy and versatile, but because it’s awesome good. It also serves an army! I like playing with this, varying the flavors of pudding (try vanilla and add a layer of bananas or strawberries), crusts (graham cracker and Oreo crusts are easy and work well) and garnishes (crushed Heath bars with the chocolate version are dangerously delicious). Another thing that’s great about this is that it’s dependable because it turns out great every time, therefore, if you have a dessert to bring to a gathering or need one to give away, you can turn to this one confidently as I’ve done on this occasion. I’ve never know anyone who could resist this dessert. (Note: if making this version, use butter, not margarine, for best flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
The only thing I would do to this recipe is double the pecan crust & double the cream cheese mixture. There didn't seem to be enough. Otherwise this was excellent!! My family loved it. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
My sister, Letty makes this for our family get-togethers and we would be upset if she did not bring it. It tastes so good. The combination of the crisp shorbread crust with the creamy pudding, cream cheese and cool whip is a textual sensation as well as flavorful. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is soooooo delicious!!! I recommend also trying chocolate pudding! YUMMMMMMMMMMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This recipe was good for something quick and easy. It wasn't too sweet with the confectioner's sugar. I also took the advice of others and used the Pecan Sandies cookies for the crust and used 1 box chocolate pudding and 1 box of vanilla pudding instead of the butterscotch pudding. Unless the Cool whip has sat out for quite awhile before spreading it on the top, it will mix in with the pudding mixture. I didn't mind since it gave it a nice light chocolate look too the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States