Four Egg Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
This is excellent. I cut the recipe in half (only two of us eating it)and added one more egg.I used half butter and half shortening.It made 1 9" cake pan.I used Butter Cream Frosting II recipe from this site.Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Lacy
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
My family loved this cake. I made it for Fathers Day. I used butter and used 2 extra egg yolks. It was very moist, light, and fluffy. The taste and texture were spot on. I iced it with a homemade chocolate buttercream and decorated with candies. It was a huge hit. This will forever be my "go to" recipe for yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Lacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I used this as part of my "fruity shortcake" cake. I made two tweaks....1 cup of water and 3/4 cup of half and half for the milk and 2tbsp potato starch and 1/2 cup of water for the eggs (my "real" eggs are precious for my family of six). It turned out really moist and was gobbled up quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This is a very moist yellow cake recipe that can be used as a base for many others. I used the recipe and substituted Mango juice for the milk and it turned out great. Made a Mango juice icing to pour over hot out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparks55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Great simple recipe. I made this cake for a going away party and got several requests to make it again for upcoming birthdays. The only change I made was to use butter instead of shortening. I made sure to cream the butter and sugar VERY well, as others have suggested and it came out the perfect texture. This made three 8" rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I have been using this recipe for several years and love it. If you cream the shortening and sugar together thoroughly it will not have any resemblance to cornbread. It is light, fluffy and moist. After many times, making this, I have found a few modifications that I think makes it even better--I use cake flour for a softer texture and substitute 1/2 cup better for 1/2 the shortening. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I made this tonight. I used two 9" round cake pans instead of a 9x13. I used strawberry preserves in between the layers while the cake was still warm. Turned out light and fluffy. Everyone loved it and went for seconds!!! I would highly recommend this recipe to any one. Very versatile!! From fresh fruit to buttercream. I saw a few comments about not getting the buttery flavor from the shortening but, I used the butter flavor shortening and you get the best of both worlds :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alysia Cornish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by liesy2002
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Recipe was simple, easy to follow, & delicious!!! This was an instant hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Loved this cake the first time I made it, with two sticks of butter, my husband and his brother did too, made my own buttercream frosting to go with it. Delicious, next will make with chocolate frosting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Girard Reesor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Love it!!!!! Super moist and delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States