Four Egg Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
My first time making yellow cake from scratch and this will def. be my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This cake is awesome! It's always moist, always delicious, and always perfect. This is my go to birthday cake when I make fancy cakes for the kids. I use my own buttercream frosting recipe (passed down from my nana) and it's GONE before the end of the day! Never a crumb spared :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This recipe is awesome and will now be the basic cake recipe for me. In addition to the ingredients, I added an 8oz of sour cream, 1/2 box of instant vanilla pudding and 1/4 cup of vegetable oil. OMG, this has a down home taste just like your mom and grandmom used to make in the cast iron stove. I will use this same recipe to make an Apple Jelly cake. Soooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I have to agree with the "dense" cake idea. I have made a lot of cakes in my lifetime and this one just didn't turn out. I read the reviews and was going to find another cake instead because I did not want a dense cake then I read the most recent review and the person said she had to reprint the recipe and everyone loves the cake. The only thing I can say is maybe because she advised to use butter instead of shortening and I used margarine (I don't use real butter for anything).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This in my opinion was not an ideal yellow cake. The cake was very dense and heavy. There was a sugary crust that formed after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. I followed it exactly. I creamed the shortening and sugar for about 5 min. The crumb and texture were really nice. I did find it a little sweet, so I may reduce the sugar by about 1/2 cup next time. I used this recipe to make a 3D doll cake, and it worked beautifully. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Tried this recipe and it was the worst cake I ever baked. It was not sweet and was not moist. I followed the recipe using 1 stick butter and 1/2 cup shortning. Will end up throwing the cake in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This recipe is what my Oma made every grandchild for a birthday each year and called it "1-2-3-4 Cake" She always topped it with a simple cream cheese icing and piped Happy Birthday on it. I only have a very old scrap of paper handwritten by her (which I treasure) with her basic ingredients and few instructions but I am so happy to have found the details of this wonderful cake and so many tips for making it. It is exactly what I remember eating so many times growing up and is a perfect cake recipe for birthdays. The only difference in ingredients is that she used 3 cups of flour vs. 2.75, hence 1-2-3-4 title for the amounts of the 4 main ingredients, shortening, sugar, flour, eggs. Thank you for posting and for all the very helpful instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
My family loved this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misspepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarDuJour
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was a perfect yellow cake. Not too dense, not too sweet. I used half vegetable oil and half butter only because shortening is not available where I live. Other than that I stuck to the recipe. It did sink a little upon cooling, but made a perfect surface for decorating. Was sturdy enough to slice into 3 small layers and fill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States