Four Egg Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Cake turn out prefect, thanks for the Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was my first attempt at making a cake from scratch. It came out great! It was very moist, the texture was perfect, and it was just delicious. I'll never buy a yellow cake box mix ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Ah-mazing! I read quite a few reviews and altered the recipe just a bit. I used 1/2 cup softened butter and 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening. I also added 1 tsp of almond extract with the 2 tsp vanilla. Here are a few tips for baking-newbies: Proper creaming of the shortening/butter and granulated sugar is a MUST and is key to a light, fluffy cake. I usually cream my butter/shortening/sugar for about 5 minutes until it is very light and fluffy. I use a KitchenAid stand mixer, but you can get the same results with a hand mixer. Sift the flour first, spoon into measuring cup and level off with the straight edge of a knife. Don't shake it! This is Martha Stewart's way of measuring flour and it has never steered me wrong in recipes that don't use weights. And my last and most important advice is to make sure your eggs and milk are at room temperature, not cold straight out of the refridgerator. Room temperature eggs and milk combined with proper creaming and measuring of flour will give you a superior, moist, fluffy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I made this cake this evening. I used two 3"x 8" round pans. I think three 2" x 8" pans would work well with this cake. If the recipe was any larger it would have been too much for those two pans. For some reason I had never tried to make a yellow cake from scratch before. This is just too easy to make to ever buy another box yellow cake mix again! It is moist and tender, and it smells heavenly and my nose is a good indicator for how something will taste! (Haven't cut it yet. Going to serve it with fresh strawberries and whipped cream.) Didn't change a thing in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Very good. Instead of shortening, I used one half butter, one half vegetable oil and unbleached sugar and it turned out very nice! Great color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Absolutely amazing! Best recipe I have found so far. Light, moist and oh so delicious. I used this for a pinapple upside down cake and it had rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Davis
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Was a little dry. Next time I'll add another egg and substitute butter for half of the shortening as suggested by other users.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahsestes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This cake was really good and moist. I typically don't like yellow cake but I will make this one again. I have a convection oven and I think that the temp was too high. All in all the cake have great flavor. I did however add an extra egg yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Because of my wife's food allergies we substatute equal parts butter for the vegtable shortening. Let the butter stand until it gets about half way to room temp. Then cream with the sugar per the recipe. If the butter is to soft before creaming the cake will not rise as much. Otherwise everything the same as the recipe. Great cake. Our family's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Irwin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This cake is good, although its not really a cake, more like cornbread. It would go great with chili, not frosting.Its thick and heavy instead of light and fluffy. I followed the recipe as written, no substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States