Four Egg Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Very good. Instead of shortening, I used one half butter, one half vegetable oil and unbleached sugar and it turned out very nice! Great color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Absolutely amazing! Best recipe I have found so far. Light, moist and oh so delicious. I used this for a pinapple upside down cake and it had rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Was a little dry. Next time I'll add another egg and substitute butter for half of the shortening as suggested by other users.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahsestes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This cake was really good and moist. I typically don't like yellow cake but I will make this one again. I have a convection oven and I think that the temp was too high. All in all the cake have great flavor. I did however add an extra egg yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Because of my wife's food allergies we substatute equal parts butter for the vegtable shortening. Let the butter stand until it gets about half way to room temp. Then cream with the sugar per the recipe. If the butter is to soft before creaming the cake will not rise as much. Otherwise everything the same as the recipe. Great cake. Our family's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Irwin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This cake is good, although its not really a cake, more like cornbread. It would go great with chili, not frosting.Its thick and heavy instead of light and fluffy. I followed the recipe as written, no substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This gets five stars if using some of the suggestions by other reviewers. Creaming in an additional 2 yolks made for an incredible batter and a rich, very moist cake. I used 2 inches of vanilla bean instead of the extract. I prefer the taste of butter and used that instead of shortening. Also, when using this as a base for coffee cake, I substitute buttermilk for regular milk which makes a richer, less sweet-tasting cake. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
the cake tastes good but it is a little dense. I would recommend this recipe if you plan to carve a 3d cake. moist not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Just made this cake for the first time and followed recipe exactly. I read the reviews so I made sure to beat the shortening and sugar together well. This cake was delicious and very moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Loved this recipe. I used buttermilk and baking soda instead and butter instead of shortening. Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babybundts_withlove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States