Four Egg Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This in my opinion was not an ideal yellow cake. The cake was very dense and heavy. There was a sugary crust that formed after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. I followed it exactly. I creamed the shortening and sugar for about 5 min. The crumb and texture were really nice. I did find it a little sweet, so I may reduce the sugar by about 1/2 cup next time. I used this recipe to make a 3D doll cake, and it worked beautifully. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Tried this recipe and it was the worst cake I ever baked. It was not sweet and was not moist. I followed the recipe using 1 stick butter and 1/2 cup shortning. Will end up throwing the cake in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This recipe is what my Oma made every grandchild for a birthday each year and called it "1-2-3-4 Cake" She always topped it with a simple cream cheese icing and piped Happy Birthday on it. I only have a very old scrap of paper handwritten by her (which I treasure) with her basic ingredients and few instructions but I am so happy to have found the details of this wonderful cake and so many tips for making it. It is exactly what I remember eating so many times growing up and is a perfect cake recipe for birthdays. The only difference in ingredients is that she used 3 cups of flour vs. 2.75, hence 1-2-3-4 title for the amounts of the 4 main ingredients, shortening, sugar, flour, eggs. Thank you for posting and for all the very helpful instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
My family loved this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misspepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarDuJour
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was a perfect yellow cake. Not too dense, not too sweet. I used half vegetable oil and half butter only because shortening is not available where I live. Other than that I stuck to the recipe. It did sink a little upon cooling, but made a perfect surface for decorating. Was sturdy enough to slice into 3 small layers and fill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
What a delicious cake this is! My changes: I used butter instead of shortening, I doubled the vanilla and added 1/4 cup more milk. I made a Bundt cake and it was gigantic! (I also made a mini cake to taste test it in advance) A box mix would have given me 2/3 of the size I got from this recipe. I think the texture was fine, you can tell it is a cake from scratch, it has a different density but still tastes yummy! I plan on using chocolate frosting on it because it will be a birthday cake, but honestly, no frosting is needed! Thanks for a great recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLY in Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This is a very easy and delicious recipe. I followed the directions exactly when I made cupcakes but adjusted the baking time. 30 cupcakes [2/3 filled] took 25 minutes. Since this isn't my first rodeo I knew to check often to see if they were done since I hadn't made this recipe before. You do need to let them stay in a bit so they will turn golden on the top. I suspect the cake may take a little less time, but again check often. The cake is more dense than a box cake, but still very, very moist with a nice crumb. Also the cupcakes don't crown like a box mix, but they still look great and taste wonderful. I filled mine with homemade strawberry jelly [picture 33] and topped them with the peanut butter frosting recipe found on this site. They were a big hit at my daughter's school banquet. They are also delicious plain. We ate 1/2 dozen before I could ice them. Quality control you understand. heehee Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkippyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This recipe is simple as pie even though it makes a cake when followed well. Substituted all butter for the shortening for best taste and texture. Not to sound mean but it seems from the problems a lot of people had with this cake, they either didn't follow or understand the the directions or made unfortunate choices in substituting ingredients. Another common problem is that many home ovens often are poorly calibrated. Don't think that just because you set your dial on 350, that's the temperature you're going to get. Use a good quality oven thermometer to make sure. This is a good simple recipe. I give it four stars instead of five because it could be written a little more clearly. I've been a professional cook for over 25 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Cook time is too long. WAY too long. If I do this again, I'll cut at least 10 nminutes off the cook time, because 45 minutes gave me an overdone cake. And this isn't my first rodeo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bachelor Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States