Four Egg Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This gets five stars if using some of the suggestions by other reviewers. Creaming in an additional 2 yolks made for an incredible batter and a rich, very moist cake. I used 2 inches of vanilla bean instead of the extract. I prefer the taste of butter and used that instead of shortening. Also, when using this as a base for coffee cake, I substitute buttermilk for regular milk which makes a richer, less sweet-tasting cake. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
the cake tastes good but it is a little dense. I would recommend this recipe if you plan to carve a 3d cake. moist not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Just made this cake for the first time and followed recipe exactly. I read the reviews so I made sure to beat the shortening and sugar together well. This cake was delicious and very moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Loved this recipe. I used buttermilk and baking soda instead and butter instead of shortening. Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babybundts_withlove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This turned out great! I used 1/2 cup butter & 1/2 shortning and added 1 egg white. I made a 5 (thin) layer cake and cooked for 12 min. They were super moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
My first time making yellow cake from scratch and this will def. be my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This cake is awesome! It's always moist, always delicious, and always perfect. This is my go to birthday cake when I make fancy cakes for the kids. I use my own buttercream frosting recipe (passed down from my nana) and it's GONE before the end of the day! Never a crumb spared :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This recipe is awesome and will now be the basic cake recipe for me. In addition to the ingredients, I added an 8oz of sour cream, 1/2 box of instant vanilla pudding and 1/4 cup of vegetable oil. OMG, this has a down home taste just like your mom and grandmom used to make in the cast iron stove. I will use this same recipe to make an Apple Jelly cake. Soooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I have to agree with the "dense" cake idea. I have made a lot of cakes in my lifetime and this one just didn't turn out. I read the reviews and was going to find another cake instead because I did not want a dense cake then I read the most recent review and the person said she had to reprint the recipe and everyone loves the cake. The only thing I can say is maybe because she advised to use butter instead of shortening and I used margarine (I don't use real butter for anything).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 593) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States