Four Egg Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This gets five stars if using some of the suggestions by other reviewers. Creaming in an additional 2 yolks made for an incredible batter and a rich, very moist cake. I used 2 inches of vanilla bean instead of the extract. I prefer the taste of butter and used that instead of shortening. Also, when using this as a base for coffee cake, I substitute buttermilk for regular milk which makes a richer, less sweet-tasting cake. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
the cake tastes good but it is a little dense. I would recommend this recipe if you plan to carve a 3d cake. moist not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Just made this cake for the first time and followed recipe exactly. I read the reviews so I made sure to beat the shortening and sugar together well. This cake was delicious and very moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Loved this recipe. I used buttermilk and baking soda instead and butter instead of shortening. Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babybundts_withlove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This turned out great! I used 1/2 cup butter & 1/2 shortning and added 1 egg white. I made a 5 (thin) layer cake and cooked for 12 min. They were super moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
My first time making yellow cake from scratch and this will def. be my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This cake is awesome! It's always moist, always delicious, and always perfect. This is my go to birthday cake when I make fancy cakes for the kids. I use my own buttercream frosting recipe (passed down from my nana) and it's GONE before the end of the day! Never a crumb spared :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This recipe is awesome and will now be the basic cake recipe for me. In addition to the ingredients, I added an 8oz of sour cream, 1/2 box of instant vanilla pudding and 1/4 cup of vegetable oil. OMG, this has a down home taste just like your mom and grandmom used to make in the cast iron stove. I will use this same recipe to make an Apple Jelly cake. Soooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I have to agree with the "dense" cake idea. I have made a lot of cakes in my lifetime and this one just didn't turn out. I read the reviews and was going to find another cake instead because I did not want a dense cake then I read the most recent review and the person said she had to reprint the recipe and everyone loves the cake. The only thing I can say is maybe because she advised to use butter instead of shortening and I used margarine (I don't use real butter for anything).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States