Four Egg Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This cake is delicious and dense. I throw an orange zest for fresh flavor. It's a hit for yellow cake lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
After reading some reviews I made a few changes: I used butter flavored shortening and I sifted the dry ingredients. I don't have a Kitchenaid so I had to use my hand mixer (which works quite well). I mixed the shortening and sugar VERY well, for about 6 minutes, and mixed in one egg at a time. I alternated mixing in the milk and the flour as directed. I made sure the whole concoction was well mixed. I put the batter in 2 round 9" pans. My end result was this: The cake looked beautiful and had no problem rising. I did get a caramelized coating as other reviewers mentioned. It was light and fluffy, but too sweet, and I thought overall it was not very tasty. I'll continue my search for a delicious yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Delicious recipe. Thank you for sharing it. I used your recipe to make my Easter cake, and boy was it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Photo by savvylmt
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I made this cake about a week in advance to my wedding last year. I had to make several for the amount of tiers I needed. I also tweeked the some of the ingredients to fit what we wanted...I added 2 tablespoons of bakers concentrated raspberry puree to the mixture as well as substituting 1 cup of milk for 1 cup of champagne. After baking and cooling I added another 2 to 3 tablespoons of champagne drizzled over the cake and then securely wrapped the cakes in plastic wrap and then foil to prevent any air from getting into the cake. It kept all week in the freezer until I needed to decorate it the day of my wedding. It was PHENOMINAL!!! I also added Bavarian Cream in between the layers for a little extra something. The reviews from our guests were no less than extraordinary. If you follow the recipe properly and you know your oven then you can't mess this one up. Baking is a science and intuition, if you don't put love into what your baking it will never come out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I made this recipe side-by-side the Wilton Basic Yellow Cake... there's simply no comparison! I made this exactly as stated [with exception of sifting the flour], even though I dislike using shortening, and it's incredible. We had a blind taste test for our family- my three year old and five year old both adamantly declared this one the winner, and my husband and I had no hesitation declaring this our favorite as well. It is light, moist [incredibly, lovely and moist, so much like my favorite chocolate cake!], and very delicate. Not crumbly or grainy, or 'eggy' or dry, it is the perfect, PERFECT cake. I can't rave enough. I have been searching years for the right cake to add to my recipe book [only tried and tested recipes get written down] and this has already been added!! Honestly, I have tested more recipes than I can keep track of now, nothing coming close to this. Phew, no more searching! Thank you, thank you, for this lovely cake! It will be a highlight at many many birthdays to come. Edit: I'm now reading the poor reviews in shock. This cake is absolutely not like cornbread [yes, I have come across this in other recipes!!], and is so light! I truly think this must be user error. I know after reading several cookbooks/baking books that mixing is key. Yes, creaming the butter is vital, but it's once all of the ingredients are combined that's key- mix it at least 1min on med/high after you think it's done. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Usually whenever I have to make yellow cake, I just use a boxxed mix, but this time I wanted to shake things up while making Boston Cream Minis... I was a little dubious my first time making this, but I'm glad I did. This recipe was absolutely delicious and had a nice texture. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I love this cake! I made it for a co-worker for his birthday and he loved it along with everyone that tasted it. I also made it to go along with Sunday dinner and my family loved it. I changed a few things like I used 6 eggs and 1/2 cup of real butter and 1/2 cup of shortening. It was great and I will be making it again this Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha moore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellford, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is the best cake I have ever made! Way better than a box cake and just as easy. One recipe is the perfect size for two 8" pans. I used this recipe to make a decorated cake and it was great to work with. Dense enough that it didn't fall apart easily but tastes light and fluffy. This will now be my go to cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
My 16 y/o daughter made this into cupcakes. It didn't rise up like a box cake and she was worried she had messed it up. But when we tried the cupcakes it was WONDERFUL!! Her friends at school who she took them to said they were the best cupcakes ever. Even my hubby who doesn't like sweets really liked them. We liked them so much that I am writing this review and I have never commented on any other recipe before. I bribed her into making more!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States