Four Egg Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
A good sponge cake. A very good sponge cake. I will use this recipe for sponge cake! :D I used 1 stick smart balance omega3 & 1/2c shortening, reduced sugar to 1 3/4c, & subbed 1/2t of the vanilla for almond extract. Although no one mentioned it that I read, it looked like too much batter for a 9 x 13 so I went a little bigger with a 9.5 x 13.5. 'Done in 40-45 min. One of those cakes with the browned (but flattened) bubbles on top & a somewhat glossy rectangle in the middle. That's typical of sponge cakes. I gave it a good whipping :D, maybe 2 minutes, before panning it. Guess a knife through was in order to help the bubble situation but it's not a big deal anyway. A 9 x 13 may have worked, but it'd be a full, full baby. When it cools, it shrinks considerably. Not too low, but as long as it doesn't overflow while baking in a 9x13, it'd be okay. :) 'Glad I tried this, but am still looking for the perfect yellow cake. K said I should make it again. What do you know? An unsolicited indirect compiment. :o ;D Topped with "Panda Frosting" which is my version of "best white icing ever". Yummy. THREE days later: Still moist & K wants it for her birthday cake with Panda frosting! Yay! Baking note: The cake tastes fine with Smart Balance, but it does have a division in the batter. You don't taste it, but see it. It's happened before with another cake using it. Guess leave Smart balance for cookies.Ahhh, cookies ... :D 6/13 Yummy,but too flat for cupcakes :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Cake was a disaster. Did not rise and deflated the moment it was taken out of the oven. Waste of money as I calculate the cost of igredients. I read the reviews, positive and negative and decided to make it in spite of the few negative reviews. How could so many people have success and give such glowing reviews? I really wanted to have a positive experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
this was a very tasty and delicious cake, very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ole' Glory farm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: South Shore, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I loved it!!!! I finally found a recipe what works well for me. This is going in to my personalized recipe book! Well done, Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zerah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Cake turn out prefect, thanks for the Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was my first attempt at making a cake from scratch. It came out great! It was very moist, the texture was perfect, and it was just delicious. I'll never buy a yellow cake box mix ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Ah-mazing! I read quite a few reviews and altered the recipe just a bit. I used 1/2 cup softened butter and 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening. I also added 1 tsp of almond extract with the 2 tsp vanilla. Here are a few tips for baking-newbies: Proper creaming of the shortening/butter and granulated sugar is a MUST and is key to a light, fluffy cake. I usually cream my butter/shortening/sugar for about 5 minutes until it is very light and fluffy. I use a KitchenAid stand mixer, but you can get the same results with a hand mixer. Sift the flour first, spoon into measuring cup and level off with the straight edge of a knife. Don't shake it! This is Martha Stewart's way of measuring flour and it has never steered me wrong in recipes that don't use weights. And my last and most important advice is to make sure your eggs and milk are at room temperature, not cold straight out of the refridgerator. Room temperature eggs and milk combined with proper creaming and measuring of flour will give you a superior, moist, fluffy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I made this cake this evening. I used two 3"x 8" round pans. I think three 2" x 8" pans would work well with this cake. If the recipe was any larger it would have been too much for those two pans. For some reason I had never tried to make a yellow cake from scratch before. This is just too easy to make to ever buy another box yellow cake mix again! It is moist and tender, and it smells heavenly and my nose is a good indicator for how something will taste! (Haven't cut it yet. Going to serve it with fresh strawberries and whipped cream.) Didn't change a thing in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Very good. Instead of shortening, I used one half butter, one half vegetable oil and unbleached sugar and it turned out very nice! Great color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Absolutely amazing! Best recipe I have found so far. Light, moist and oh so delicious. I used this for a pinapple upside down cake and it had rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States