Four Egg Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This recipe turned out beautifully. Make sure to thoroughly cream the sugar and butter. The texture and flavor if this cake were rich and delicious. I will never purchase a box cake again. I paired this cake with homemade lemon curd between two cake rounds and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This was really great! I wouldn't say it was "fluffy" (although I whipped the butter/sugar enough that the batter was SUPER fluffy going in), but it had a wonderful texture! Kind of between a cake and a pound cake. The only change I made was cutting down the sugar, which probably change it a little (I used one heaping cup). sliced it lengthwise with a serrated knife, and spread a thin layer of strawberry jam, iced it with vanilla buttercream and topped with blueberries and strawberries. It was beautiful and my husband's family loved it! I'll definitely make it again! Don't even mess with boxed cake mixes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah.antoinette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I saw the shortening in the recipe and hesitated, but thought hey! This is something different, might be a good change. Wrong! It had an off flavor. I suppose if you substituted butter for the shortening it would be better, but...then it would be more like a pound cake. At least the texture was fluffy. Out of my recipe box you go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I love this recipe! Freezes great and tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This cake was simply fantastic! Of course I tweaked it I mixed the shortening with butter and the cake simply melted in your mouth. I also made the cake a Lemon cake by adding lemon flavoring in addition to the vanilla and also adding some lemon juice. I used lemon curd filling in between the layers and made a lemon cream cheese frosting. Turned out excellent. This recipe never fails. I don't understand how it could get a bad review or how you could have a dry cornbread cake when it calls for a cup of shortening.. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe was PERFECT. I substituted butter for shortening like many others and halved it to make about 15 just above the liner cupcakes (you could squeeze 16 cupcakes out of half this but I'm a habitual batter eater). I've already eaten two before they've cooled because they're too yummy I didn't want to wait to frost them! To those negative reviewers, I imagine that they didn't really mix things in. You need to seriously cream your sugar and butter before proceeding (thank heavens for mixers) and add the other ingredients SLOWLY. I did cheat and add the baking powder and salt just tossed in before the milk and flour instead of mixing it in with the flour because I was too lazy to get out another bowl. Then I added 1/3 cup flour, then 1/4 milk, alternating til I'd done it all and making sure the previous addition was fully integrated before proceeding. It gave me a perfectly light spongy, moist cake. I also suspect many people are unhappy it does not taste like a box cake, but I think it tastes much better, and certainly more natural. This is plain and simple good baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Excellent recipe! This is a must have recipe for everyone and it is so easy to make and is very delicious. I made a pineapple upside-down cake with this batter and it came out just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This cake is delicious and dense. I throw an orange zest for fresh flavor. It's a hit for yellow cake lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
After reading some reviews I made a few changes: I used butter flavored shortening and I sifted the dry ingredients. I don't have a Kitchenaid so I had to use my hand mixer (which works quite well). I mixed the shortening and sugar VERY well, for about 6 minutes, and mixed in one egg at a time. I alternated mixing in the milk and the flour as directed. I made sure the whole concoction was well mixed. I put the batter in 2 round 9" pans. My end result was this: The cake looked beautiful and had no problem rising. I did get a caramelized coating as other reviewers mentioned. It was light and fluffy, but too sweet, and I thought overall it was not very tasty. I'll continue my search for a delicious yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States