Four Egg Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I followed the recipe EXACTLY. So this rating is for the recipe as shown. The flavor of the cake was nice. The texture was more of a very very dense egg like cake...if you're planning on making a tres leches this would be the type of cake you would want....reminded me of an "egg cake" if that makes sense...best way to describe it...just an odd texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I was making a strawberry whipped cream cake and found I didn't have a mix..found this recipe and read some of the reviews and thought I would try it...the strawberry whipped was all we could eat ..I had chilled the cake after topping it and the cake looked like it absorbed all the shortening or something..it was just awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Pudvah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Let me just start by saying I have been trying to perfect a moist yellow scratch cake recipe for the longest. My issue has always been that they always come out dry or they come out too sweet. This recipe helped so much! The only thing I did differently was used 2 cups of milk instead of 1 3/4 and I used 2 sticks of butter (1 cup.) I made cupcakes and a cake yesterday and I only have a half cake left. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I don't know why anyone would have a problem with this recipe. The only thing I can think of is not cutting the shortening/butter into the sugar well or not using an electric hand mixer to blend it all together. This is a wonderful and easy cake recipe. Does it give you a box mix cake? No. What it gives you is an honest to goodness old fashioned yellow cake. Better on the second day too! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This is an excellent recipe! Rose perfectly and perfectly flat as well. Very moist. Very little crumb to knock away prior to frosting. I made it for a special occasion for a special friend and used a MSL Maple Syrup Frosting with pecan crumbs decorating the top. Guests were intrigued by the ingredients and swooned over the the look, taste and perfect crumb of this cake. Many had second pieces. I really dislike boxed cake these days yet rarely have cake flour on hand. The ingredients for this cake are always on the shelf, it is easy to make and the end product is fantastic! I'm making another one today..... Thank you Carolyn your recipe and making me look so accomplished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I gave this recipe 3 stars because although it tastes good, it does not taste like yellow cake, it tastes more like cornbread, it also didn't help that the icing I used was a buttercream, so the result buttered cornbread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I quartered it as I am learning how to bake a cake. It came out perfectly nonetheless. As I made a smaller amount, I used an 8" round cake pan, lined with waxed paper. I mention this because I momentarily wondered what happened to that, but then, it slipped my mind. Then, I proceeded to frost on top of it. I am grateful this was a test, not the real presentation. Better to make my mistakes early. I frosted the cake with 1/4 of the following: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/white-frosting/. This also worked out well. I didn't change the ingredients or modify. It has been many years since I tasted a scratch cake. From that point of view, this was a fabulous endeavor. I will make it again for the real event for which I practicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I was SO disappointed in this cake. I made if for my sweetheart's birthday, instead of taking the easy way out and buying Dunkin Hines. Well, I wish I had taken the easy way out! This cake was tasteless and had the consistency of DRY corn bread! If we hadn't had vanilla ice cream to accompany it, I'm not sure we would've been able to swallow it! AWFUL!! Never again!! Tomorrow, I'll be making him a do-over cake and I'll follow another poster's recommendation regarding the addition of an egg and a box of instant pudding. ANYTHING will be an improvement on this "cake", err DOORSTOP or PAPERWEIGHT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Love this recipe. It's easy & quick..The problem I had the last time was I put it in two 9inch round pans & it cooked out of the pan! Haha There is a lot. But this time, I'm using a good 9x13 glass pan to cook it in. Hope it turns good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaP12

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stanton, Texas, USA
Living In: Forsan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This recipe turned out beautifully. Make sure to thoroughly cream the sugar and butter. The texture and flavor if this cake were rich and delicious. I will never purchase a box cake again. I paired this cake with homemade lemon curd between two cake rounds and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States