Four Egg Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This is my new go-to yellow cake recipe. I changed nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
moistest cake i've ever had. My husband makes this a lot now, we ice it with butter cream icing and it's to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Pilon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrislorio
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This is a great yellow cake added with some homemade pineapple filling. I cut down cooking time 10 minutes, blended the shortening and sugar very well. It makes three 8" rounds. You may want to try substituting butter for shortening. Lots of compliments on this cake as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
In spite of the fact that this tastes okay, I was disappointed with the result. It is rated very high and usually the reviews from before help me to alleviate any issues for recipes rated so highly, but that was not quite the case for this. My husband really liked it so perhaps if I take away the title "yellow" and just call it "cake" it's fairly good. I used butter instead of shortening and 5 eggs instead of 4 to help it be less dense as other reviewers had suggested. If you get it out of your head that you're making a typical "yellow cake" it actually does taste fairly good. I also made a chocolate frosting on top with powdered sugar, brown sugar, butter, and cocoa powder, which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Schultz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I had never made a cake from scratch before, & I decided to make it for my husband's birthday. It came out great! I will never buy boxed cake mix again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Easy and Excellent!!!!! Just replaced 1/2 of the shorting with butter for added flavor......Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZaidaRS
Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Wonderful cake - I used yolks only and added a fifth egg yolk. I think Crisco shortening is creepy so I used lard. This is an old-fashioned cake - more dense than boxed cakes. It doesn't dome when you bake it - I made it as a fudge-iced 2 layer cake so it was perfect for that. My Dad declared as good as the cake his mother used to make for his birthday as a kid - we celebrated his 70th birthday with this delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Leigh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I tried this recipeWell!! it's ok, I think I would use it for strawberry's or peaches, a short cake. Other then that not a cake for me. sorry. and yes I am a baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was my first time making yellow cake from scratch. It was a bit dense, not really light as I wanted it. It also sunk in the middle and tasted a bit egg-y for me. I did cream the shortening and sugar for 5 minutes, beat in the eggs one by one, and kept the milk and eggs at room temperature. Maybe it was because I continued to use the mixer after the dry was added. I do see how other reviewers could relate this to cornbread - while it does not taste like corn bread, the consistency was very similar. Other people liked it, but I think I will be trying another yellow cake recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I followed the recipe EXACTLY. So this rating is for the recipe as shown. The flavor of the cake was nice. The texture was more of a very very dense egg like cake...if you're planning on making a tres leches this would be the type of cake you would want....reminded me of an "egg cake" if that makes sense...best way to describe it...just an odd texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States