Four Egg Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Delicious!! I did what many reviews recommended - I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening and made sure it was creamed well. I also added the eggs: 1 at a time. I put 1 tablespoons vanilla AND 1 teaspoon almond extract - (I was using this recipe for a banana cream poke cake) AS WELL as 1/2'd the recipe for a 8 x 8 pan. The cake was so flavorful!! I do see what others have said - the cake is quite fluffy but I bet it would be a tad dry without the pudding. All-in-all - it is a good recipe for an AP flour cake that is convenient, easy to follow and fast to prepare!! Thank you for the recipe!! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Just pulled them out of the oven! I used butter instead of shortening and increased the flour to 3 cups since it was very "liquidy." I also used 1 Tablespoon of Baking Powder instead of 3 teaspoons. That's a joke - 3 teaspoons IS one tablespoon! Lol! Anyway, the batter tasted heavenly. They rose well and baked up with a nice firm crumb. Nothing at all resembling corn bread! They had a larger crumb, not a fine one, so I think that may be where people are getting the cornbread thing from. They tasted wonderful! My friend was here when I pulled the out of the oven and he suggested more butter. Next time I will put a teaspoon of butter flavoring in them to see if that makes a difference. I was going for more of a butter cake than a yellow cake though so that's why I was thinking more butter flavor. They held up well to being filled with ganache and I think it is a nice, basic, versatile cake recipe that I will add to my arsenal for sure! I see it as a perfect blank canvas to make my own variations with - a good, solid contender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Fantastic cake recipe!! It was the first cake I've made from scratch, and it turned out so deliciously moist and rich, even though I used butter instead of shortening. I read the reviews first and followed the suggestions to have the ingredients at room temp, mix the sugar and softened butter well, add the eggs one at a time, and not overmix the batter after the flour has been added. My family loves it, including my toddler whose birthday I made it for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I needed a recipe for yellow cake since I didn't have box cake mix on hand, also didn't have any butter.This is perfect, easy to make and simple ingredients I was even out of regular milk so I used almond milk and it taste great! Wonderful simple and sweet yellow cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Excellent, this cake came out very moist and fluffy. I did use butter instead of shortening. I also replaced 1/4 cup of pineapple juice for 1/4 cup of the milk, so that my cake would have a small hint of pineapple. I have to say I was a little bit nervous about making a cake that was not from a box, because I had never done so before. But it came out wonderful, better than any box cake, my family went crazy for it. I will definitely be using the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
My first attempt at making a cake from scratch, and it was beautiful. I thought it was a little on the heavy side, but I will try again using some tips from other reviews... maybe more milk, or an aditional egg... Definitely a keeper!!!!!!... Update... we added the extra egg, and whipped the mix just a little longer... results were fabulous. Photos to come soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
What a great recipe! I only made a couple changes. Used all butter instead of shortening, added 1 extra egg yolk and a bit of almond extract. The texture is perfect. I also did sift the flour. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I think everyone should purchase an oven thermometer and check the oven temperatures before even starting a new recipe and then complaining about the results!!! Of all the stoves/ovens I've had, only the Jen-Air temperature was the same as the thermometer. This makes a world of difference in how a recipe turns out, I.e., crisp edges, dry body and disappointment . Of course, the way you mix and add ingredients also count; which in this case, were explained Very well. You Can't fly blind, and neither should you Cook blind!!! :-) I think the recipe was great! I made it the way it was written. Upon additional re-bakes I did make some changes, only to amuse myself. They were All great. That's the nice thing about a great Basic recipe - you can make changes to fit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This is my new go-to yellow cake recipe. I changed nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States