Four Egg Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
My cake turned out exactly like Jen in GA's. It's texture and taste closely resembled cornbread and the sugar made a hard crust on the outside. I couldn't think what to do with it and it ended up getting stale so it got thrown away. not sure why this is such a popular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Exactly what I was looking for!!! I was looking for a pourable batter to make a Zebra cake, My mix method was the same as the video. I Followed all the ingredients listed - plus 2 egg yolks for added moisture. My cake baked up beautifully, however it shrunk considerably when it cooled. But the end result was a perfectly flavored, perfect crumb and very moist cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece Frisbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I substituted coconut almond milk in place of dairy milk simply because I was out. I ended up adding 1/8 of a cup of heavy cream and then 2 more table spoons of sugar to compensate for the slightly bitter taste of the milk. Finally I substituted butter in place of the shortening just because butter is healthier. The cake was wonderfully simple and smelled wonderful baking. I will be frosting the cake with an all natural almond strawberry buttercream. Thank you so much for this 'award winning' recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
cake was very dry.probably wont bother again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
It came out moist but had a strange taste. Next time I'm trying butter instead of shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Such an easy cake, and DELICIOUS! It's a heavy, dense cake, but still so moist and creamy. It is so flavorful, it goes fine with just a vanilla frosting. It made a fat, gorgeous, bundt cake, and I was thrilled with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This would be my fourth time making this about. It just needs something to keep it moist so I put a tablespoon of olive oil hoping that will do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh Charlton Cornelius

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I have stopped using cake mixes and this recipe is the best around for yellow cake. I make mocha frosting for this one. I, too, use 2 sticks of butter. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Rizzitano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cherryfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I followed the recipe, and it could be my lack of baking skills, but the cake had a very large crumb and unappealing texture for me. The taste was good, texture was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
It came out great! Best yellow cake I ever made. I used butter instead of the shortening and it was fluffy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 593) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States