Four Egg Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Great simple recipe. I made this cake for a going away party and got several requests to make it again for upcoming birthdays. The only change I made was to use butter instead of shortening. I made sure to cream the butter and sugar VERY well, as others have suggested and it came out the perfect texture. This made three 8" rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I have been using this recipe for several years and love it. If you cream the shortening and sugar together thoroughly it will not have any resemblance to cornbread. It is light, fluffy and moist. After many times, making this, I have found a few modifications that I think makes it even better--I use cake flour for a softer texture and substitute 1/2 cup better for 1/2 the shortening. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I made this tonight. I used two 9" round cake pans instead of a 9x13. I used strawberry preserves in between the layers while the cake was still warm. Turned out light and fluffy. Everyone loved it and went for seconds!!! I would highly recommend this recipe to any one. Very versatile!! From fresh fruit to buttercream. I saw a few comments about not getting the buttery flavor from the shortening but, I used the butter flavor shortening and you get the best of both worlds :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alysia Cornish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by liesy2002
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Recipe was simple, easy to follow, & delicious!!! This was an instant hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Loved this cake the first time I made it, with two sticks of butter, my husband and his brother did too, made my own buttercream frosting to go with it. Delicious, next will make with chocolate frosting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Girard Reesor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Love it!!!!! Super moist and delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
It's texture and taste closely resembled cornbread and the sugar made a hard crust on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Exactly what I was looking for!!! I was looking for a pourable batter to make a Zebra cake, My mix method was the same as the video. I Followed all the ingredients listed - plus 2 egg yolks for added moisture. My cake baked up beautifully, however it shrunk considerably when it cooled. But the end result was a perfectly flavored, perfect crumb and very moist cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece Frisbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I substituted coconut almond milk in place of dairy milk simply because I was out. I ended up adding 1/8 of a cup of heavy cream and then 2 more table spoons of sugar to compensate for the slightly bitter taste of the milk. Finally I substituted butter in place of the shortening just because butter is healthier. The cake was wonderfully simple and smelled wonderful baking. I will be frosting the cake with an all natural almond strawberry buttercream. Thank you so much for this 'award winning' recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
cake was very dry.probably wont bother again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States