Four Egg Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Delicious!! I did what many reviews recommended - I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening and made sure it was creamed well. I also added the eggs: 1 at a time. I put 1 tablespoons vanilla AND 1 teaspoon almond extract - (I was using this recipe for a banana cream poke cake) AS WELL as 1/2'd the recipe for a 8 x 8 pan. The cake was so flavorful!! I do see what others have said - the cake is quite fluffy but I bet it would be a tad dry without the pudding. All-in-all - it is a good recipe for an AP flour cake that is convenient, easy to follow and fast to prepare!! Thank you for the recipe!! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Just pulled them out of the oven! I used butter instead of shortening and increased the flour to 3 cups since it was very "liquidy." I also used 1 Tablespoon of Baking Powder instead of 3 teaspoons. That's a joke - 3 teaspoons IS one tablespoon! Lol! Anyway, the batter tasted heavenly. They rose well and baked up with a nice firm crumb. Nothing at all resembling corn bread! They had a larger crumb, not a fine one, so I think that may be where people are getting the cornbread thing from. They tasted wonderful! My friend was here when I pulled the out of the oven and he suggested more butter. Next time I will put a teaspoon of butter flavoring in them to see if that makes a difference. I was going for more of a butter cake than a yellow cake though so that's why I was thinking more butter flavor. They held up well to being filled with ganache and I think it is a nice, basic, versatile cake recipe that I will add to my arsenal for sure! I see it as a perfect blank canvas to make my own variations with - a good, solid contender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Fantastic cake recipe!! It was the first cake I've made from scratch, and it turned out so deliciously moist and rich, even though I used butter instead of shortening. I read the reviews first and followed the suggestions to have the ingredients at room temp, mix the sugar and softened butter well, add the eggs one at a time, and not overmix the batter after the flour has been added. My family loves it, including my toddler whose birthday I made it for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I needed a recipe for yellow cake since I didn't have box cake mix on hand, also didn't have any butter.This is perfect, easy to make and simple ingredients I was even out of regular milk so I used almond milk and it taste great! Wonderful simple and sweet yellow cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Excellent, this cake came out very moist and fluffy. I did use butter instead of shortening. I also replaced 1/4 cup of pineapple juice for 1/4 cup of the milk, so that my cake would have a small hint of pineapple. I have to say I was a little bit nervous about making a cake that was not from a box, because I had never done so before. But it came out wonderful, better than any box cake, my family went crazy for it. I will definitely be using the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
My first attempt at making a cake from scratch, and it was beautiful. I thought it was a little on the heavy side, but I will try again using some tips from other reviews... maybe more milk, or an aditional egg... Definitely a keeper!!!!!!... Update... we added the extra egg, and whipped the mix just a little longer... results were fabulous. Photos to come soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
What a great recipe! I only made a couple changes. Used all butter instead of shortening, added 1 extra egg yolk and a bit of almond extract. The texture is perfect. I also did sift the flour. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I think everyone should purchase an oven thermometer and check the oven temperatures before even starting a new recipe and then complaining about the results!!! Of all the stoves/ovens I've had, only the Jen-Air temperature was the same as the thermometer. This makes a world of difference in how a recipe turns out, I.e., crisp edges, dry body and disappointment . Of course, the way you mix and add ingredients also count; which in this case, were explained Very well. You Can't fly blind, and neither should you Cook blind!!! :-) I think the recipe was great! I made it the way it was written. Upon additional re-bakes I did make some changes, only to amuse myself. They were All great. That's the nice thing about a great Basic recipe - you can make changes to fit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This is my new go-to yellow cake recipe. I changed nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States