Four Cheese Baked Ziti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this for 25 people and it was absolutely delicious. I added some fresh garlic and used a little less mozzarella and I had tons of compliments. So easy and done within an hour. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
meh. edible, but I'll not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Perfect with a nice salad and crusty bread. I used the ingredients according to the recipe. I baked until bubbly, probably 20 minutes and let the ziti rest for ten minutes before serving. This takes care of the problems you might have with the sauce being too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Consistency was off. I made this exactly to recipe. It smelled great, tasted great but the cheese got gritty almost immediatly, and I didn't have the stove up too high, the recipe said medium high, and I had it on medium, whisking as I added the cheese. It had the consistency of ricotta cheese when done. I won't make this again, I will try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
2 cups of cream, with all that cheese mixed in, is WAY too much sauce for only 8oz of ziti pasta, even after baking 10 min, as recipe suggests. Tasted great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I've read through the reviews, and some people say it doesn't have much flavor, except for the quality of the cheeses you buy (and good cheese is expensive). Reading the recipe as it's written, I can see why people have said this - there is no "underscore" for the sauce. An easy way to fix this is to realize that you're basically making a white sauce, and adding cheese to it. Well, the recipe calls for 2 cups of half-and-half. That means, you can add 2 bouillon cubes of your choice to the sauce (look at step 2) while the sauce is simmering - make sure you crumble the bouillon cubes well, so that the spices are incorporated into the sauce. I would suggest a good chicken bouillon, like Maggi or Knorr - and for the vegetarians that DO eat cheese and eggs, you can add 2 vegetable bouillon stock cubes instead of the chicken. Hope this helps! P.S. I would also suggest adding whole milk only, instead of half-and-half. The sauce would be almost as creamy, but your guests wouldn't be bogged down with all those calories from the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This recipe is alright, the cheese sauce tends towards the chunky side and is overall bland. To solve the chunkiness, I replaced the base of the cheese sauce with a white sauce recipe from my fav cookbook (basically flour, butter, and milk). I then stirred in a cup each of mozzarella and swiss and 2 Tbsp grated Parmesan, along with the red pepper flakes and basil. Pour over the ziti, and then I top it with about a cup of my fav spaghetti sauce to add more interest to the dish. With these tweaks the ziti is irresistibly creamy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clarinetlover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I do not know why more people have not tried this...it's excellent. This is probably in my top 5 favorite recipes that I have made. I didn't have shredded swiss so I substitued shredded Monterry Jack and it was still great. I think I would add some Romano cheese next time. My daughter thought it was too spicy but I don't know why, it was just nice. Great served with garlic bread and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
my husband really liked this, I thought it could have used more ricotta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Me and my husband didn't like this. It was missing something...It just tasted like plain old macaroni made with expensive cheeses. Didn't have much flavor...smelled GREAT in the oven though, LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Flint, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States