Four Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2000
This bean salad was very good, fairly easy to prep, will keep forever in the frig. Kids had seconds. Thought it could stand a touch more vinegar flavor, maybe useing a stronger type of vinegar would do the trick. Will use this recipe again. Thanks Kathleen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2000
A welcome change and quite long on taste. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
I made this Bean Salad for our end of the year staff party - I love recipes that can be made in advance, kept in the fridge overnight, and transported easily to the party. In fact, sitting overnight really helped the flavours to blend. What a GREAT salad!! Leslie Webb Lynn Lake, Manitoba, Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2000
This was very easy and really good. My family enjoyed it. I did replace the lima beans with wax beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
A nice change from the three bean salad I always make. The marinade is refreshing and tastey. The lima beans add a touch to this salad. Keeps well in refrigerator - will make again. Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I added Jicama to this for an added crunch. Lasts very well for days in frig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Excellent. Took to family gathering and even those who don't like "bean salad" asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This no-fuss recipe is a delightful dish to have "on hand". Keeps well for several days -- a sweet-tart tang that lightens any meal. Interesting textures add nice dimension. Great as a side dish with salad for lunch or with a main course for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I thought it was to sweet. If I ever make again will not use as much sugar as recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Awesome salad! I agree with other reviewers that it's okay to mix and match the veggies according to one's tastes. I used this recipe as a jumping-off point for my own version, with green beans, wax beans, garbanzo beans, dark red kidney beans, and sliced beets. For the dressing, I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup (I used "Sugar in the Raw"), and paired that with 1/2 cup white vinegar and 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar (for an extra kick). I added minced garlic and fresh cracked black pepper before giving everything a toss. This salad gets better with time, so if you can make it a couple hours before you want to serve it, the veggies will marinate in the dressing and it will taste amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States