Fougasse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Too much salt! I only put in half a tablespoon full and it was still salty. This rose ok for me, was still bubbling away after 90 minutes. However this was a great introduction to fougasse for me, will try again soon..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I am puzzled at the reviews that are dinging this recipe for not rising much. It's a flat bread and it's really not supposed to rise much, which the recipe submitter pointed out. I did add a tad more yeast (used 1 1/2 tspns), doubled the herbs just because, and then used 2 tspns salt instead of tablespoons, but I make bread all the time and feel perfectly comfortable tweaking to our tastes. It actually did rise very quickly for a flat bread; the 20 minutes was spot on. I decided to brush on oil to help it brown, then topped with Herbes de Provence for some prettiness before baking, and it turned out beautifully. Very nice with butter or by itself. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I, too, had trouble getting this to rise...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I made this for my French class when I did a project about Monaco (as it is one of their national dishes) and it was very successful! Just like previous reviews recommended, I doubled the yeast, and halved the salt. I added more herbs than the recipe called for, and i added some salt to the top when I sprinkled with herbs at the end. Also, instead of making loaves, I made biscuits, for easier serving, and I baked them for about 15 minutes. Overall, this recipe was pretty good with some tweaking, though it is still lacking flavor. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I love this Bread, my in laws ate 1 loaf in 1 sitting too! I added diced sun Dried tomatoes also to add a bit more flavor. I also added more yeast and herbs since i like a bolder taste. i will make this again and again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was an ok recipe. right off the block, I doubled the amount of yeast, halved the salt, and put all the herbs in the bread. Oh, and I added some honey to the water. Then it turned out to be one of the better recipes I have worked with for a flat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrieck

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
As a amateur cook, this was my first yeast recipe, and it was alright. Didn't add as much salt, and added a teensy bit more yeast than called for. I thought it was pretty good, but my family wasn't sold on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Labombarbe
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Even after cutting the salt in half there was still way too much in this recipe. I wouldn't use more than 2 Teaspoons of salt when making it again. Other than that it was great fun to make. Fresh yeast always ensures good rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
MUCH less salt-first time I made it, I practically felt my arteries harden. Doesn't rise very much at all, and therefore the cook time could be a little less I think. Do love the herbs though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
The only change I made to this was to double the herbs, and the bread turned out great--sort of chewy with a strong herb flavor. It's easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States