Fortune Cookies So Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I tried making these fortune cookies for a party and did exactly as the recipe said. When they came out of the oven they were very cakey. I tried folding them and they ripped in the middle. I read other reviews saying they were excellent and I'm wondering if there is a secret to it. So many people said they worked out great and were better than ones at a chinese resturant. Mine were like thick pancakes. Oh, well! I guess I'll just keep trying out different variations or something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
WOW THESE ARE AWESOME! they tasted EXACTLY like good fortune cookies! I used these for a friend's birthday party and they were absolutely a hit! I'm going to use them for valentines day, as well, and put red food coloring in them, to make them pinkish. I will definitely use this again! oh, by the way, i took a batch out too soon, and they were a bit chewy...but my friends said those were even better, and they asked me to make them chewy for valentines day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I have to disagree wih the little write-up. These are BETTER than any fortune cookies I have ever had from a Chinese restaurant! I did have to add a little more water to the recipe. Our higher altitude might have been the reason for that. My son took these to school as Valentine's - they were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Ugh! These would actually taste decent... IF they'd actually leave the baking sheet! Definitely either use a miraculously un-sticking sheet (I didn't have parchment paper) or grease like there's no tomorrow! I found, however, that greasing TOO much makes the cookies a bit salty (I used margarine)... Also, the middle often stays chewy while the sides already start burning, so either make the center very thin, or lower the heat. I've also added quite a lot of water because it wouldn't spread. I guess I'd try this recipe again, but only when I'll find a way to unstick those cookies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Very yummy! I changed the 1/4 tsp vanilla and almond extract to 1 tsp. of vanilla. The batter tasted very much like flour before I increased the extract. I also added water to make it thinner. It was much easier to spread. Try to get the middle as thin as possible as it tends to be cake-like and breaks apart or cracks pretty easily. I found that I had much more time to shape them then I thought I would and could make four at a time. You might need a towel to shape them as they stay very hot for awhile. I also must have made them larger then intended, because the recipe only made 20. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I made these for asian day in my social studies class. on my first try they were soft , not crunchy but everyone still loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I loved this recipe! My 10 year old was able to make these for her friends. The only thing I did different was to increase the water to 4 T. Making them less pancakey.Using the back of a spoon to spread them out before cooking gives them more of an even consistency. Bake a little longer till about a forth to a third is golden brown. Fold them in half, lightly grab the top and use an edge of a glass or bowl to get the horseshoe shape then put them in a muffin pan to cool. We made two on a pan and rotated the pans. It sounds complex but once you get the motion in order they are so easy. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
They're a great novelty (I made "Spooky Fortune Cookies" for a Halloween party I went to), and taste pretty good, but they are VERY difficult to work with. It's hard to strike a balance between making them too cake-like and making them too crisp so that they won't fold properly. I had to put them in muffin tins to keep them together. Would I make them again? Perhaps, but only for its novelty value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TYPOEMPRESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I used powdered egg whites and margarine, the heated pan really helped, but I thinned it with a spoon back on the pan and towards the end of the batch added a tad of water to thin, you can only do 4 at a time, but it was a blast, after making 100 I had hot hands but the partygoers LOVED them!!!(usig the cup lip to make the horseshoe was easier)Would do it again for the next party with the birthday wishes inside, THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
These are not "so easy"... very tempramental to get them folded before they're too cool. Only the edges were crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDORKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States