Fortune Cookies So Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
READ THE REVIEWS! THEY GIVE YOU TIPS! I found something out that might help some of you. I also was having problems while folding it and it breaking. What I learned is: Yes, the texture should be like a pancake (so I did have to add more water to mine because it was thick) BUT in addition, once it's put on the cookie sheet, it should NOT be like a pancake but more like a crepe. You've reeeally gotta thin it out with a spoon. Too thick and it'll break. You know you've got it thin enough when you pick it up and it feels like you're flinging a piece of rubber around. If it feels like a thin cookie---too thick still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I loved this recipe! My 10 year old was able to make these for her friends. The only thing I did different was to increase the water to 4 T. Making them less pancakey.Using the back of a spoon to spread them out before cooking gives them more of an even consistency. Bake a little longer till about a forth to a third is golden brown. Fold them in half, lightly grab the top and use an edge of a glass or bowl to get the horseshoe shape then put them in a muffin pan to cool. We made two on a pan and rotated the pans. It sounds complex but once you get the motion in order they are so easy. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I made these cookies for a project in school and we found it best to use the batter warm (room temp.) and do three at a time. wait until the edges are golden/crisp then w/ two people have one remove cookie and the other fold the cookie then put them in small muffin tins to bake more until golden all over then cool (still in the muffin tin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I hate false advertising- but this recipe is telling the truth! 'So easy-' and so good! They were nice and sweet, even though they didn't have the lemon flavor of your classic restaurant cookie. But they were fun to make, though I strongly remcommend having a lot of elbow room and fast moving fingers. If you are planning on popping fortunes in these, wait a few seconds to insert the paper, otherwise it will stick to the cookie and your fotune will be 'You will eat a piece of paper and choke.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Ok everyone, these are easy with some tips. Put the oven to 350, not 375. Grease cookie sheets really, really well. I added more water to thin the dough and added no vanilla extract, all almond and about 1 tsp. I used a old metal cookie sheet, not an airbake. Spread dough out THIN, bake 4 minutes, flip cookies over bake 30 seconds more. Work really quick, and these look just like the real things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
my daughter and I just made these. We compared this recipe with another one she found on another site. the only difference was water was increased to 3 tablespoons and butter to 6 tablespoons. I thought these would be so difficult but that was not the case. She wanted to make them for a friend who is leaving town. They turned out so nice!!! We only did 4 at a time to ensure time to fold before they started to crack. We let them get good and brown on the edges, folded then placed in a mini-muffin tin to hold the shape. Just wonderful and tasted so much better than store bought. Thanks Babycakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
I really enjoyed these. I found that if you heated the pan before putting the cookies on they spread into circles easier. I only put two cookies in the oven at a time. Also, as a preference, I doubled the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Very yummy! I changed the 1/4 tsp vanilla and almond extract to 1 tsp. of vanilla. The batter tasted very much like flour before I increased the extract. I also added water to make it thinner. It was much easier to spread. Try to get the middle as thin as possible as it tends to be cake-like and breaks apart or cracks pretty easily. I found that I had much more time to shape them then I thought I would and could make four at a time. You might need a towel to shape them as they stay very hot for awhile. I also must have made them larger then intended, because the recipe only made 20. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I used powdered egg whites and margarine, the heated pan really helped, but I thinned it with a spoon back on the pan and towards the end of the batch added a tad of water to thin, you can only do 4 at a time, but it was a blast, after making 100 I had hot hands but the partygoers LOVED them!!!(usig the cup lip to make the horseshoe was easier)Would do it again for the next party with the birthday wishes inside, THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I agree that these take some practice, but it's well worth it. I ended up making two batches and the first was an edible practice round;) Some notes I took away: * I baked these on an ungreased (non stick) stovetop griddle/grill surface and had no problems with sticking. Actually, I discarded the cookie that I made on a greased surface because it really accelerated the browning process and they weren't as pretty. * The first batch, exactly as directed, was delicious but tasted a little grainy. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 c the second time and didn't have the same problem--they were still perfectly sweet. When I make these again I may use an ultrafine sugar instead. * I took the previous reviews too far on batch #1 and got preoccupied with adding extra water. I think I used a bit too much, and this may have caused the grainy texture as well. My "giving" batch was about the consistency of tacky glue and spread and baked beautifully. Just made these as gift tags for holiday gifts and I'm thrilled. Far less complicated than I anticipated and I will try them again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States