Fortune Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
It was reallie kewl. It came out perfect. Then I had and idea after making so many after 2 months. I tried them in different colors! It was so kewl! I used foodcoloring! I shared some with mi 5th grade class and it was such a success!!! It was so fun getting all the compliments! And you should try to put colors too! try different colors each time you wanna bake. To make them all mostly folded, just put like 1-6 at a time. That's what I did. And when I do the colors, fill a little container with little batter, then put food coloring. Mix well. All of the above. I hope you love muah idea!!! I'm outie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Aside from the fact that these cookies were difficult to shape (no fault of the recipe), they are fantastic - they taste great and look good. A few tips: 1. Cut a round mold into the top of a plastic container, then spread the batter with a long metal spreader; this will give the cookies a smoother surface and make the shaping easier because the cookies will cook more evenly. 2. I cut down on the amount of sugar by almost half a cup - it made them better for my taste buds but didn't adversely affect the baking process. 3. Wear a pair of thin non-wool gloves (you don't want little fibres getting all over your cookies) when shaping the cookies - they are hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
These were terrific and versatile. The taste, while not identical to a commercial fortune cookie, was perfect for serving solo. I also served them as an accompaniment to pineapple sorbet and peach-orange sorbet. I tried cooking them on parchment and flipped the paper and cooked cookie onto the bottom of custard cups to make dessert bowls for sorbets, but the parchment caused wrinkles so the "bowls" ended up with cracks and the cookies didn't harden the way they did when baked directly on the sheet. Baking directly on the sheet makes a big difference both in the texture and the consistency after cooling. I've also rolled them into tubes and tucked one in with each scoop of sorbet which made for a great, tasty presentation. They would also be good rolled in tubes with the ends dipped in chocolate for an elegant finish to a meal with coffee or hot tea. Haven't shaped the fortune cookies yet but will definately continue using this recipe! Thanks Sherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
This recipe was terrific, but I have one suggestion for easier cookie manipulation. Instead of using a greased cookie sheet, use parchment paper OR that wonderful new "Release" stuff (aluminum foil). Once out of the oven, slide the cookie with paper off the cookie sheet, and then you can use pot holders to handle it. I made very large cookies and manipulated them into bowl shapes, rather than cookie shapes. A very elegant way to serve dessert (white chocolate mousse, in my case). The taste is great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I loved this recipe! It is a MUST to have the rack in the oven level, as the dough is extrememly thin and will "run". I also put the slips of paper in as I shaped them hot from the oven - no problem. Instead of fortunes, I put my favorite memories with my boyfriend and gave them to him for Valentine's Day. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
I made 200 fortune cookies as wedding favors. Everybody loved them. They were easy to make and went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Wonderful flavor and texture to the cookies. Like any cookie in this genre, they are best made on low humidity days. When I was in pastry classes I picked up a few tips for shaped cookies. 1. Cotton gloves protect the fingers from burns 2. Place the cookie sheet on a thick towel once removed from the oven. It helps retain a bit of heat. 3. I was really slow in my forming so my teacher had me work directly from the oven. That way the resting cookies are kept hot while you work the other one. You have to be very careful not to bang appendages and only have the 1 rack in the oven to minimize the chance of burning arms, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
I tried several fortune cookie recipes and this one was the easiest one, the cookies came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
These were so easy to make and taste great! I use them for thank you's, valentines day, birthdays and any other occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Little Southern Mama
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Excellent recipe! Really hot on your hands to work with and tedious! But great for my son's China project!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States