Fortune Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Great! After they come out of the oven you can flip a glass over with a 2" bottom, lay the hot cookie over the glass and you will come up with a cute little "tulip" bowl that you can serve ice cream or sorbet in! Sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My oven got too hot for 400 so i placed it on 350, but the cookies were great. I made them for New Years Eve. Very good taste. Simple to make, although time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Little Southern Mama
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Excellent recipe! Really hot on your hands to work with and tedious! But great for my son's China project!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Requires experience to handle, but that's true of all fortune cookie recipes. Used half almond & half orange extracts. Trim for smooth edges with kitchen shears before cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PimpernelSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because the cookies turned out so well...they tasted yummy. However, I didn't have much luck threading the fortunes thru after baking, or during the folding process. They were quite a bit of work, but I expected that. I would make them again, I think practice would make perfect with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
These are not easy. I always say I'm not going to do it again, but I do. I can't figure out how to thread the fortune through after it's cool, so I add them before I fold. The cookie batter gets stuck on the fortune, but I hope people will get over it. Of course the charm is in the fortune itself. I've used the Monday's Child poem and baby quotes for baby showers, and Spanish quotes with the translation on the back for a bilingual friend's BDay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
These were so easy to make and taste great! I use them for thank you's, valentines day, birthdays and any other occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
I gave this 3 stars because it does have a very good flavor, but I was unable to fold the cookie into the fortune cookie shape. It was incredibly frustrating because I had tried 3 other recipes for fortune cookies and had the same problem. I was excited to see others here give this a great review so I was very optimistic. I tried so many different things to get these cookies to "fold", i.e., adjusting my oven temp from 300 to 400, taking the cookies out sooner, letting them bake longer, adding more dough to the circles, using less dough, after trying for two days, I gave up. Can anyone here post how they were able to shape these cookies without them breaking or cracking? They ALWAYS cracked and drove me insane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
This recipe was terrific, but I have one suggestion for easier cookie manipulation. Instead of using a greased cookie sheet, use parchment paper OR that wonderful new "Release" stuff (aluminum foil). Once out of the oven, slide the cookie with paper off the cookie sheet, and then you can use pot holders to handle it. I made very large cookies and manipulated them into bowl shapes, rather than cookie shapes. A very elegant way to serve dessert (white chocolate mousse, in my case). The taste is great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Wonderful flavor and texture to the cookies. Like any cookie in this genre, they are best made on low humidity days. When I was in pastry classes I picked up a few tips for shaped cookies. 1. Cotton gloves protect the fingers from burns 2. Place the cookie sheet on a thick towel once removed from the oven. It helps retain a bit of heat. 3. I was really slow in my forming so my teacher had me work directly from the oven. That way the resting cookies are kept hot while you work the other one. You have to be very careful not to bang appendages and only have the 1 rack in the oven to minimize the chance of burning arms, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States