Fortune Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
My first batch I made very thin and pulled out 1 minute before time was up - afraid of burning. I couldn't get them shaped in time. But they taste delish! The second batch I made slightly thicker and baked for 8 min at 375. They formed nicely but probably won't be crispy. Got to get the third batch now...Great recipe. Definitely use the tip to place the cookies in a muffin tin to hold their shape. You will soon get into a rhythm when doing these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Took me about 15 cookies to get the hang of folding them, but then they turned out great (and the broken scraps provided good snacks for my household to keep them away from the folded ones). I found I folded slowly and it was easier to do batches of 3 cookies at once, rotating on two pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Great recipe! It's kind of difficult to work with if you don't have enough training, but it could be me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by freckles
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
***For shaping*** I used a big Crayola marker to help me for the first fold, press, wait a few seconds and remove marker, and bring corners in. Easy! As one user suggested, place cookie in a muffin tin for cooling to keep it's shape. Very yummy too. I used this for a girls slumber party. Each girl wrote a nice message and exchanged the cookies. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I thought these were terrible to work with. I am trying another recipe that an asian chef posted. I have made fortune cookies in the past, no problem, but don't have the recipe I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made these for my son's kindergarten class for international week & put kid jokes inside. They were such a big hit that I decided to also make them for teacher appreciation with an encouraging quote for the teachers. Yes, it is time-consuming & yes it will take you 1-3 cookies to figure it how to get the cookie just right. That said - This is a great recipe. My husband said they were the best fortune cookies he had ever eaten. I completely agree with previous reviewers about using cotton gloves to shape the cookies. I suggest reading some previous reviews for other helpful hints. I used the 'draping the cookie over a bowl' to maintain the bend in the cookie & found it very useful. One last thing - i suggest putting the paper in while you fold the cookie. The other way is just too frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I have made fortune cookies before, and they always taste better than those you get in the restaurant. This recipe was very good. Since I didn't have cream on hand, I substituted buttermilk with no adverse effect on the flavor. I found it easier to laminate the fortunes (or cover them with clear contact) and then wrap them inside the cookies rather than trying to thread them through afterward. It also helps to have an empty egg carton available to hold the fortunes after folding so they don't lose their shape while cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Don't underbake the cookies or they will tear during shaping. To shape: Wear cotton gloves. Using a wide spatula, remove one cookie at a time from the oven and flip into your gloved hand. Place and hold one fortune paper in the center of the cookie and quickly fold the cookie in half. Grasp the ends of the cookie and draw it gently down over the edge of the straight-sided pan or bowl to get that "fortune-cookie" curve. (The slit in the cookie will be facing up as you shape the cookie over the pan.) Place the cookie, ends down, in one of the muffin pan cups to cool. This will help them hold their shape while cooling. If the cookie hardens too fast, return it to the oven for about 1 minute to make it more bendable. Repeat for remaining batter, using a cold, well-greased baking sheet for each batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie W
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
These were fun to make and great! I made a few too thick and they were like actual cookie consistency... fat and fluffy. You have to make them very thin. Also, some were soft in the middle and well done on the edge.... not sure how to fix this. Overall, they were great! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe was easy and resulted in great tasting cookies. My daughter took them to school for her birthday treats. It was a huge success with her 4h grade classmates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States