Fortune Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Aside from the fact that these cookies were difficult to shape (no fault of the recipe), they are fantastic - they taste great and look good. A few tips: 1. Cut a round mold into the top of a plastic container, then spread the batter with a long metal spreader; this will give the cookies a smoother surface and make the shaping easier because the cookies will cook more evenly. 2. I cut down on the amount of sugar by almost half a cup - it made them better for my taste buds but didn't adversely affect the baking process. 3. Wear a pair of thin non-wool gloves (you don't want little fibres getting all over your cookies) when shaping the cookies - they are hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Wonderful flavor and texture to the cookies. Like any cookie in this genre, they are best made on low humidity days. When I was in pastry classes I picked up a few tips for shaped cookies. 1. Cotton gloves protect the fingers from burns 2. Place the cookie sheet on a thick towel once removed from the oven. It helps retain a bit of heat. 3. I was really slow in my forming so my teacher had me work directly from the oven. That way the resting cookies are kept hot while you work the other one. You have to be very careful not to bang appendages and only have the 1 rack in the oven to minimize the chance of burning arms, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
I tried several fortune cookie recipes and this one was the easiest one, the cookies came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
I made 200 fortune cookies as wedding favors. Everybody loved them. They were easy to make and went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I loved this recipe! It is a MUST to have the rack in the oven level, as the dough is extrememly thin and will "run". I also put the slips of paper in as I shaped them hot from the oven - no problem. Instead of fortunes, I put my favorite memories with my boyfriend and gave them to him for Valentine's Day. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
It was reallie kewl. It came out perfect. Then I had and idea after making so many after 2 months. I tried them in different colors! It was so kewl! I used foodcoloring! I shared some with mi 5th grade class and it was such a success!!! It was so fun getting all the compliments! And you should try to put colors too! try different colors each time you wanna bake. To make them all mostly folded, just put like 1-6 at a time. That's what I did. And when I do the colors, fill a little container with little batter, then put food coloring. Mix well. All of the above. I hope you love muah idea!!! I'm outie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Don't underbake the cookies or they will tear during shaping. To shape: Wear cotton gloves. Using a wide spatula, remove one cookie at a time from the oven and flip into your gloved hand. Place and hold one fortune paper in the center of the cookie and quickly fold the cookie in half. Grasp the ends of the cookie and draw it gently down over the edge of the straight-sided pan or bowl to get that "fortune-cookie" curve. (The slit in the cookie will be facing up as you shape the cookie over the pan.) Place the cookie, ends down, in one of the muffin pan cups to cool. This will help them hold their shape while cooling. If the cookie hardens too fast, return it to the oven for about 1 minute to make it more bendable. Repeat for remaining batter, using a cold, well-greased baking sheet for each batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Great! After they come out of the oven you can flip a glass over with a 2" bottom, lay the hot cookie over the glass and you will come up with a cute little "tulip" bowl that you can serve ice cream or sorbet in! Sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
I gave this 3 stars because it does have a very good flavor, but I was unable to fold the cookie into the fortune cookie shape. It was incredibly frustrating because I had tried 3 other recipes for fortune cookies and had the same problem. I was excited to see others here give this a great review so I was very optimistic. I tried so many different things to get these cookies to "fold", i.e., adjusting my oven temp from 300 to 400, taking the cookies out sooner, letting them bake longer, adding more dough to the circles, using less dough, after trying for two days, I gave up. Can anyone here post how they were able to shape these cookies without them breaking or cracking? They ALWAYS cracked and drove me insane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
They tasted really good, but I couldn't get them to turn out right. They lost their shape and either burned quickly or wouldn't harden. After messing with them for an hour I gave up. I'm not sure where I went wrong. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States