Fortune Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Julie W
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
These were fun to make and great! I made a few too thick and they were like actual cookie consistency... fat and fluffy. You have to make them very thin. Also, some were soft in the middle and well done on the edge.... not sure how to fix this. Overall, they were great! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe was easy and resulted in great tasting cookies. My daughter took them to school for her birthday treats. It was a huge success with her 4h grade classmates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Great! After they come out of the oven you can flip a glass over with a 2" bottom, lay the hot cookie over the glass and you will come up with a cute little "tulip" bowl that you can serve ice cream or sorbet in! Sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My oven got too hot for 400 so i placed it on 350, but the cookies were great. I made them for New Years Eve. Very good taste. Simple to make, although time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Little Southern Mama
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Excellent recipe! Really hot on your hands to work with and tedious! But great for my son's China project!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Requires experience to handle, but that's true of all fortune cookie recipes. Used half almond & half orange extracts. Trim for smooth edges with kitchen shears before cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PimpernelSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because the cookies turned out so well...they tasted yummy. However, I didn't have much luck threading the fortunes thru after baking, or during the folding process. They were quite a bit of work, but I expected that. I would make them again, I think practice would make perfect with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
These are not easy. I always say I'm not going to do it again, but I do. I can't figure out how to thread the fortune through after it's cool, so I add them before I fold. The cookie batter gets stuck on the fortune, but I hope people will get over it. Of course the charm is in the fortune itself. I've used the Monday's Child poem and baby quotes for baby showers, and Spanish quotes with the translation on the back for a bilingual friend's BDay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
These were so easy to make and taste great! I use them for thank you's, valentines day, birthdays and any other occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
I gave this 3 stars because it does have a very good flavor, but I was unable to fold the cookie into the fortune cookie shape. It was incredibly frustrating because I had tried 3 other recipes for fortune cookies and had the same problem. I was excited to see others here give this a great review so I was very optimistic. I tried so many different things to get these cookies to "fold", i.e., adjusting my oven temp from 300 to 400, taking the cookies out sooner, letting them bake longer, adding more dough to the circles, using less dough, after trying for two days, I gave up. Can anyone here post how they were able to shape these cookies without them breaking or cracking? They ALWAYS cracked and drove me insane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States